Journal/Magazine/Newspaper Article - Electronic - Referencing (TAFE) - LibGuides at TAFE Queensland Library Network

More help with

A digital object identifier (DOI) is a combination of letters and numbers string assigned by a registration agency (the International DOI Foundation) to identify content. The publisher assigns a DOI when your article is published and made available electronically.

It is recommended that when DOIs are available, include them for both print and electronic sources. The DOI is usually located on the first page of the electronic journal article, near the copyright notice. The DOI can also be found on the database landing page for the article.

example

Journal

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), pp. xxx-xxx. https://doi.org/xxxxx

Pashkova-Balkenhol, T., Lenker, M., Cox, E., & Kocevar-Weidinger, E. (2019). Should we flip the script?: A literature review of deficit-based perspectives on first-year undergraduate students’ information literacy. Journal of Information Literacy, 13(2), 92-111. https://dx.doi.org/10.11645/13.2.2619

Ebook

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of book. Publisher. https://doi

Brown, L. S. (2018). Feminist therapy (2nd ed.). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000092-000

Journal - Electronic

Journal Articles

Articles in a journal are scholarly and generally include research results or analysis. They are written for an academic audience by a subject matter specialist.

In-text citation

(Author, Year)

(Rese et al., 2019)

(Ahmann et al., 2018)

(Danniels & Pyle, 2023)

("CPD spotlight: Michelle Collins", 2023)

Author (Year)

Rese et al. (2019)

Ahmann et al. (2018)

Danniels and Pyle (2023)

"CPD spotlight: Michelle Collins" (2023)

Direct quote: (Author, Year, p. x)

(Rese et al., 2019, p. 1438)

(Ahmann et al., 2018, p. 39)

(Danniels, & Pyle, p. 300)

("CPD spotlight: Michelle Collins", 2023, p. 10)

Reference list

Do not include database information or the URL if an article is from an academic database as their content is available from multiple platforms (American Psychological Association, 2020, p.317).
However, do include a database name or web site URL if it is the only place the content is available (American Psychological Association, 2019, para. 14; American Psychological Association, 2020).
If an article has a DOI always include it at the end.

Journal Articles with a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) from an academic database

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), pages. https://doi.org/xxxxx

Rese, A., Schlee, T., & Baier, D. (2019). The need for services and technologies in physical fast fashion stores: Generation Y’s opinion. Journal of Marketing Management, 35(15/16), 1437–1459. https://doi.org/10.1080/0267257X.2019.1665087

Journal Articles without a DOI (Digital Object Identifier) from an academic database

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), pages.

Ahmann, E., Tuttle, L. J., Saviet, M., & Wright, S. D. (2018). A descriptive review of ADHD coaching research: Implications for college students. Journal of Postsecondary Education & Disability, 31(1), 17–39.

Journal article from a web site with a DOI

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), pages. https://doi.org/xxxxx

Danniels, E., & Pyle, A. (2023). Teacher perspectives and approaches toward promoting inclusion in play-based learning for children with developmental disabilities. Journal of Early Childhood Research, 21(3), 288-302. https://doi.org/10.1177/1476718X221149376

Journal Articles without an author

Title of article. (Year). Title of Journal, volume(issue), pages. https://doi.org/xxxxx

CPD spotlight: Michelle Collins. (2023). InCite.44(2). 9-11.

If there is no DOI leave it out, only add web site URL if it is the only place the article is available.

Magazine/Newspaper Articles - Electronic

Magazine/Newspaper Articles

Articles in a magazine are based on current events and general interest topics and can be in-depth or short. They are written for a general audience by journalists or freelance writers.
Articles in a newspaper are brief and provide up to date news reports and current events. They are written for a general audience by journalists or freelance writers. Online newspapers are associated with a printed version like The Australian or The New York Times.

In-text citation

(Author, Year)

(Schulman, 2019)

(Murray et al., 2016)

Author (Year)

Schulman (2019)

Murray et al. (2016)

Direct quote: (Author, Year, p. x)

(Schulman, 2019, para. 3)

(Murray et al., 2016, para. 2)

Reference list

If you have retrieved the magazine or newspaper article from one of our library database's, you don't need to include the database name or URL.

Magazine Articles

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day of publication). Title of article. Title of Magazine, volume (issue), pages. https://xxxxx

Schulman, M. (2019, September 9). Superfans: A love story. The New Yorker. https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2019/09/16/superfans-a-love-story

Online magazines may not always have a vol, issue number or pages, leave it out if not available. If the issue number is a month, then add this with the year ie. (2021, January). If magazine article is from a library database leave out the URL.

Newspaper Articles

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day of publication). Title of article. Title of Newspaper, page no. http://xxxxx

Murray, D., & Templeton, A. (2016, December 20). Rachel Antonio: Diaries could spark new search for missing teen's body. The Courier Mail. https://www.couriermail.com.au/news/queensland/rachel-antonio-diaries-could-spark-new-search-for-missing-teens-body/news-story/c6ef145542a7b0f82446defc6532438b

If the article page number is not available, then leave it out. If the news article is from a library database leave out the URL.