Library Studies

Annotated Bibliographies

• University of NSW Information about annotated bibliographies
• QUT Information about annotated bibliographies
• TAFE QLD FAQs: Annotated Bibliography

Tips for searching databases

1. Choose an appropriate database 
2. Know what you are searching for
3. Choose your search terms carefully
4. Try phrase searching
5. Combine search terms (also known as Boolean searching- using "and", "or" or "not")
6. Try variations of search terms and truncation.  For instance symbol* will also find records that include "symbols" and "symbolism".
7. Limit or refine your search results.
8. If you find a useful resource look at the subject headings listed in the record.  Click on them to (potentially) find additional information.
9. Check the biblographies of articles you've found useful because you might find additional references. 
10. Don't forget you can ask a Librarian for help! 

Databases

• Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with full text
• PLOS - Public Library of Science 
• DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals 
• Academic Search Complete 
• Australia/New Zealand Reference Centre 

Additional (non TAFE Library) databases/sites you might like to try:

• State Library of Queensland (You will need to join the SLQ however membership is free and registration is completed online)
• Your local Council Library- Brisbane, Logan, Redland, Gold Coast Libraries, Toowoomba. 
• Additional Qld Public Libraries 
• Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All data is freely available.