Events

Designed to help you choose the perfect theme for your special event and build a strong foundation for a successful event.

Learn the process for planning and executing an event. From the initial planning stages through to the final debrief, you navigate the many small and large things that need to be considered when planning a successful event..

This book offers insights into the demands made on staff in service encounters in tourism, events and hospitality roles. Using data from research completed in these industries, it hinges upon storied incidents offered by workers about which the reader can reflect and apply theoretical knowledge. A key feature of this volume is that it focuses on staff perspectives and perceptions of service encounters and delivery rather than on customer or management perspectives.

The dynamic and fast expanding business events sector plays a vital role in the professional lives of hundreds of millions of people worldwide by providing settings in which they can meet for the purposes of negotiation, deliberation, motivation, the dissemination of knowledge, and the celebration of their greatest career related achievements.

Gathering people together for a special event is always a challenge. Even for the experienced planner, each event is unique. This revised third edition has been expanded to include social media, social networking, cultural sensitivity, ethics and diversity. It will assist any planner with meeting all the challenges that surround a production.

Event design is a new approach to systematically decompose and recompose the success of events. By using the #EventCanvas template, one can identify where and for whom the event can be innovated. It is a handbook to document, discuss, and design events worth attending, and illustrates good event design.

Event Planning and Management, second edition, is an ideal resource for those seeking a step by step formula to plan and deliver a successful event. With the vital balance of professional experience behind them, the authors teach the next generation of event planners with unrivalled knowledge, ensuring an effective event process from start to finish. This book delivers practical understanding of the theory and practice needed to activate each stage of planning, from initial venue selection, budgeting and programme content, to managing stakeholders and sponsors, promotion, risk assessment, safety and post-event evaluation.

Cities and regions around the world increasingly capitalize on a series of events aimed at optimizing their reach and outcomes. How then can a series of different events be developed and harnessed.

Events Management, provides an introductory overview of the fundamentals in managing events from conception to delivery, highlighting both the theoretical and operational aspects, to prepare students for a career in events management and hospitality.

This is a short, accessible and practical guide to running venues which are in the business of hosting events. Using honest guidance peppered with the author¿s real-life situational anecdotes to contextualise the topics, the book is logically structured around the key stages of event management: pre-event, onsite and post-event.

A short and succinct overview of the range of marketing communication materials from print to social marketing that can be used to promote an event successfully to the correct target markets.

Events of all types are produced every day for all manner of purposes, attracting all sorts of people. To provide a safe and secure setting in which people gather is imperative. Event risk and hazard management must be fully integrated into all event plans and throughout the event management process.

Sport Facility and Event Management provides readers with a working knowledge of how to manage sport facilities and how to plan, manage, implement, and evaluate sport events. The text integrates timely theoretical insights with real-world practicality and application, affording readers a strong foundation in facility and event management.

The fifth edition of Successful Event Management covers every aspect of events management, from the planning and set up process through to delivery, close-down and evaluation. The wealth of case studies includes both successful and failed events, allowing you to really understand how the principles described in the text can affect the outcome of an event.

Using data from research of tourism, events and hospitality, it hinges upon storied incidents offered by workers about which the reader can reflect and apply theoretical knowledge. A key feature of this volume is that it focuses on staff perspectives and perceptions of service encounters and delivery rather than on customer or management perspectives.

This is a short, accessible and practical guide to running venues which are in the business of hosting events. Topics covered include developing the client relationship, marketing, financial accountability, risk, interdepartmental communication, onsite procedures and post-event evaluation.

This book provides a sound practical and theoretical context for the study of this subject by covering, in depth, all categories of business-related events including corporate meetings, association conferences, political events, incentive travel, exhibitions, corporate hospitality, awards ceremonies and SMERF (social, military, educational, religious and fraternal) gatherings.

The textbook explores the relationship between event design and multiple visitor experiences, as well as interactivity, motivation, sensory stimuli, and co-creative participation. Structured around the key phases of event design, the book covers all the critical dimensions of event concepting, atmospherics, the application of interactive technologies, project management, team leadership, creative marketing and sustainable production.

Festivals highlights the big picture, as well at the intricate details that comprise the delivery of a festival to plan and execute a successful festival. This book will benefit experienced festival planners as well as those who aspire to enter or develop their skills in this field.

The role of marketing and communication, environmental planning, the increasing role of governments through the creation of event strategies, and the different perspectives of event management are all discussed.

Recent years have seen dramatic changes to the events industry. The influence of social media and global communications technology, increased focus on environmental sustainably and social responsibility, and changes to the economic and cultural landscape have driven rapid expansion and increased competition. Special Events: Creating and Sustaining a New World for Celebration has been the event planner's essential guide for three decades, providing comprehensive coverage of the theory, concepts and practice of event management.

Entertainment industries are among the largest in the world. The legal environment in which entertainment operates involves a confluence of eclectic laws such as those concerning free expression and its limits, those concerning intellectual property and their relationship with promoting, limiting and capitalising creativity, and the laws governing the contractual relationships between parties involved in entertainment productions.

This book is primarily targeted at students studying accounting with applied management programmmes related to the hospitality, tourism and event sectors.

Experiences are an important part of our lives and increasingly represent a crucial topic to address for businesses and professionals. This book focuses on designing, staging and managing experiences within the context of the events, tourism and hospitality industries.

This is a step-by-step guide of the key aspects to understanding and managing the impacts of events of any type and scale. Contains checklists for action, tools for measuring performance, and numerous examples and case studies from across the world.