Events

This document outlines fundamental principles of staging an event and provides practical step-by-step advice to deliver successful events and festivals in Queensland.

Information about the event industry including planning tools, production, new openings, events and trends in marketing, design and style. Register to receive emails about event news and ideas.

The EMBOK framework consists of a variety of facets that represent the fundamentals of events management.

This website provides information about marketing events.

Read many articles about exhibiting organised into 9 topic categories including budgeting, marketing, venues and resources.

Checklist asks important questions that can help you assess and improve your event risk controls. Clarify what your organisation is and isn't doing, understand which systems should be implemented, and understand your responsibilities.

This is an online source for news and information for meeting, convention, incentive and trade show professionals. It features the latest industry news as well as searchable article archives and business resources.

Smart Meetings is an integrated media company for the meetings, travel and hospitality industry. Resources include news and information (including in our mobile app and e-newsletters), a monthly print and digital magazine, educational webinars, venue and destination directories, networking events and site selection tools.

Many resources are offered on this website including articles from their magazine.

This guide covers all the essentials you need to know about marketing within the tourism industry in Queensland. Produced by Tourism and Events Queensland.

This website will help organisers run events safely. Topics include venue and site design, crowd control, transport, fire safety, noise, handling waste and more.

The Queensland Government has provided "Best practice guidelines for event delivery in Queensland" (2016) plus templates to support and guide event organisers.

ExCeL London is right in the heart of London’s historic Royal Docks, just ten minutes from Canary Wharf and twenty minutes from the City. ExCeL offers an abundance of flexible spaces and services which makes it a top choice for public shows, trade shows, meetings and special events.

This is a national business events strategy document created by a joint government and industry working group.

This is the authorised whole-of-government website for Commonwealth legislation and related documents.

This is the official Queensland Government website providing access to authorised Queensland legislation and related information.

This is the national policy body responsible for the development and evaluation of the model work health and safety laws

This is the peak Australian business events network driving economic prosperity for Australia. The Association brings together Australia's most influential city and regional bureaux, dedicated to marketing their specific region as premier business events destinations to domestic and international markets.

This website promotes Australia as a location for business events.

Austadiums is the only website of its kind in Australia and is a trusted source of stadium information and news, sports event details and results, attendance figures, seating maps and much more.

CIM Business Events has the latest news from Australia and beyond.

Planning a New Zealand event? The BEIA Planning Tool can get takes care of the hard work for you and helps get you inspired. Simply peruse through the 4 different sections, skip what isn’t relevant and then sit back and relax while the tool generates you a list of personalised recommendations. If you wish to change your answers in a previous section, you can simply click on the previous section title and you will be taken back.

This website provides tools, case studies, resources and useful links.

This guide from Scotland provides simple, practical steps to support planning and delivery and help to minimise resource usage.

The University of Queensland encourages sustainable catering to reduce the carbon footprint of their events. Information is provided on sustainable food choices.

Events Tasmania provides information and suggested actions to take to hold events that have lower carbon emissions and less of an environmental impact.

Use this to help plan a low-footprint event. It uses life cycle assessment to estimate the carbon equivalents produced as a result of your event.

Events Queensland attracts, supports, grows and promotes successful events in Queensland, Australia

This website aims to provide a forum for the industry where practitioners can exchange ideas and information

The Business Events Council of Australia was formed in 1994 as a peak industry body, providing a single voice for the business events sector to liaise with the federal government and relevant agencies on matters common to all segments of the industry. It was originally known as the MICE (Meetings, Incentives, Conventions & Exhibitions) Industry Council, until the new term "Business Events" was adopted in 2000.

The Exhibition and Event Association of Australasia (EEAA) is the peak association for the exhibition and event industry in Australia and New Zealand, representing all aspects of the exhibition and event industry.

IFEA is the professional association supporting festival and event leaders worldwide. IFEA officially represents members in 38 countries on 5 continents.

The Wedding Planning Association is managed by an advisory board to uphold and maintain the standard of all Wedding Planners in Australia and across the globe. We offer online advice and assistance on industry related matters.

MEA is a national, independent not for profit organisation dedicated to servicing the needs of the meetings & events industry and promoting professionalism and excellence in all aspects.

This is the peak organisation for the Live Performance industry and has been servicing the needs of the industry for almost 100 years.

This is the national awards program for the Australian events industry. It is the only opportunity for Australian event professionals to compete directly right across the nation and across all facets of the industry to establish which are Australia's best events and event-related goods, services and innovations.

" is a statutory body of the Queensland Government and its lead marketing, destination and experience development and major events agency. This website features a wealth of tourism and events news, research and information, making it a central point for the industry, media, governments, special interest groups and anyone interested in the business of tourism and events." - website

The was established in 1999 to promote best practice in event management. The Centre works closely with industry to provide innovative, high quality, practically orientated and locally relevant education and training programs. Additionally, ACEM undertakes research on industry issues and trends.

Find information about some of Australia's national events.