Applied Fashion | Degree Course

The encounter between art and fashion has been a rapidly growing phenomenon over the last decade, with major international artists working with top fashion houses to produce contemporary masterpieces that challenge the traditional boundary between these two dynamic cultures. In 'Art/Fashion in the 21st Century', five chapters feature concise essays with profiles of the key designers, break-out stories about the most avant-garde projects and interviews with the leading lights of the art-fashion crossover phenomenon

Orientalism is a central factor within the fashion system, both subtle and overt. In this timely and groundbreaking book, the author shows the extent of the influence that the Orient had, and continues to have, on fashion. Our concept of Western fashion is unthinkable without it, whether in terms of the growth of the cotton industry or of garments we take for granted, such as the dressing gown. From pre-modern to contemporary times, this book demonstrates that, in the realms of fashion, the Orient is not simply a construction or a fascination of the imperial West with its eastern-other. Rather, it reveals the extent of cross-pollination, exchange and multiple translation that has taken place between East and West over the last 500 years.

This two-volume compilation brings together highlights from Taschens Fashion Now series to create a comprehensive overview of fashion design around the world at the start of the 21st century. Edited by creator Terry Jones, this book is an indispensable work of reference for anyone interested in the future of fashion.

Ever since his first show for the house in 1983, Karl Lagerfelds Chanel collections have consistently made headlines and dictated trends the world over. For the first time, every Chanel collection ever created by Lagerfeld is here gathered in a single volume a unique opportunity to chart the development of one of the worlds most influential fashion brands and discover rarely seen collections. This definitive publication opens with a concise history of the house of Chanel, from the days of Coco Chanel to today, followed by a brief biographical profile of Karl Lagerfeld, before exploring the collections themselves, which are organized chronologically and introduced by a short text unveiling each collections influences and highlights.

An investigation into the creative design process, following a number of award-winning student fashion designers through the development of their final collections. By following ten award-winning student designers through their thought processes in response to a brief, Fashion Thinking establishes key approaches to design and encourages this process of discovery. Each student project represents a diverse range of strategies at each stage of the design cycle. By following each stage of development, these examples offer a unique and inspiring insight into the thinking behind a final collection.

You'll learn about how and why fashion evolves and changes, the materials used and who creates them, the companies who make apparel, and how fashion marketing helps companies sell their products. Spotlight features focus on careers, innovators, and businesses, using industry examples to show real world situations. A Top 100 Apparel Designers section gives you a quick list of who's who in fashion history, while a glossary and key terms throughout make sure you know what you're talking about.

A design tutorial by Manuela Brambatti, Versace's chief design illustrator, the book is an idea of couturier Flavio Marconi who, impressed by her drawing style, her unique taste designing fashion collections and the precision with which she captures the flow of fabric over the body, convinced her to put it into print. Here Brambatti reveals her fresh and innovative style, not better than others, as she writes, but original and distinctive for Versace's workshop, halfway between fashion sketching and illustration

Brilliantly illustrated by Manuela Brambatti, a key member of the Gianni Versace fashion house for nearly thirty years, and with the participation of the designer Fabio Menconi (senior designer for Escada and Armani, among others), the book guides readers through the fashion world's most iconic accessories, and it features practical information and technical advice on how to draw them to achieve a desired result. From creating a basic drawing to using color, the way in which techniques are presented seeks to encourage readers to try out what they have learned. The publication provides detailed information on how to capture different materials, surfaces and decorations--for example, skin, natural fibers, wool and prints--and it includes sections that provide tips on where to look for inspiration. It also offers examples of transformations in designs and reviews the historical development of accessories.

This book faces all the topics of patterns formally in an exhaustive presentation of all kinds of skirts and trousers. The book divided into 8 clear chapters, starts with an in-depth study on measuring and body-shaping and then on fabric technology and sartorial terminology.