Applied Fashion | Degree Course

Over the past 40 years, Japanese designers have led the way in aligning fashion with art and ideology, as well as addressing identity and social politics through dress. They have demonstrated that both creative and commercial enterprise is possible in today's international fashion industry, and have refused to compromise their ideals, remaining autonomous and independent in their design, business affairs and distribution methods. The inspirational Miyake, Yamamoto and Kawakubo have gained worldwide respect and admiration and have influenced a generation of designers and artists alike. Based on twelve years of research, this book provides a richly detailed and uniquely comprehensive view of the work of these three key designers. It outlines their major contributions and the subsequent impact that their work has had upon the next generation of fashion and textile designers around the world. Designers discussed include- Issey Miyake, Yohji Yamamoto, Rei Kawakubo, Naoki Takizawa, Dai Fujiwara, Junya Watanabe, Tao Kurihara, Jun Takahashi, Yoshiki Hishinuma, Junichi Arai, Reiko Sudo & the Nuno Corporation, Makiko Minagawa, Hiroshi Matsushita, Martin Margiela, Ann Demeulemeester, Dries Van Noten, Walter Beirendonck, Dirk Bikkembergs, Alexander McQueen, Hussein Chalayan and Helmut Lang.

This introduction to fashion is aimed at students of fashion design across the world. By following the design process, from historical and commercial industry context to final collection presentation, the book provides a clear guide for students as they discover what designing for fashion entails.

The Fundamentals of Fashion Design provides a fully illustrated introduction to the key elements of fashiondesign, from the initial concept of a fashion idea to realizing it in 3D form. Writing with clarity and precision, Richard Sorger and Jenny Udale explain the entire fashion design process, including research and design, fabrics and their properties, construction methods and how to form and promote a collection.

Leather Fashion Design is a practical introduction for students explaining how to make garments fromleather, suede, and similar materials. It covers everything from what to look for in choosing a skin to work with, through pattern making, sewing techniques, and finishing.

This book offers a thorough grounding in the principles of fashion design, describing the qualities and skills needed to become a fashion designer, examining the varied career opportunities available and giving a balanced inside view of the fashion business today.

Find your unique fashion illustration style with Draw Fashion Now! Draw Fashion Now is a combination how-to guide and workbook that teaches the best techniques for illustrating and envisioning 21st-century fashion. Professional fashion illustrator Danielle Meder shares lessons she's learned over fourteen seasons of sketching fashion and style in every fashion capital, offering readers solid illustration techniques that demystify the enigma of fashion attitude.

A comprehensive, visually led overview that covers all areas of fashion drawing, presentation, and illustration,Fashion Illustrator both teaches students how to draw the fashion figure and provides an extended showcase of established and emerging illustrators.

Imported custom made clothes were usually beyond the financial reach of the average middle class American woman of a century ago; and store bought garments were often of inferior quality. This left many women with the options of making their own clothes or hiring a seamstress.

While there are costume and fashion dictionaries tied to specific countries or periods, none have been comprehensive. In The Complete Costume Dictionary, Elizabeth Lewandowski has collected from a variety of sources including costume history texts, journal articles, historical publications, autobiographies, biographies, foreign language dictionaries, and contemporary publications to create a resource that spans the globe, from the earliest record of fashion to the 21st century.

Starting with the early years of Victoria's reign, this practical book examines the developments and evolution of fashionable dress as it progressed throughout her six decades as queen. From the demure styles of the 1840s to the exaggerated sleeves of the 1890s, it explores the ever-changing Victorian silhouette, and gives patterns, instructions and advice so that the amateur dressmaker can create their own versions of these historic outfits

Pattern Cutting for Men's Costume is a practicalguide featuring patterns for the most important garments worn by menbetween the 16th and 19th centuries. Easy to follow instructions explain how to cut patterns for 'average' and individual measurements with expert advice on how to adapt patterns to fit men of all shapesand sizes.

This book explores the geographic places and historical spaces of fashion. The authors explore key issues affecting fashion systems.

This lavishly illustrated book looks at the history of fashion from 1850 to 2010. Taking a decade by decade approach, Daniel James Cole and Nancy Deihl explore the history of fashion as a lively and dynamic manifestation of twentieth century culture.

This lively survey of 150 years of fashion covers everything from Haute Couture to the High Street, and developing fabric technology from silk to fleece. From Coco Chanel to Armani and Alexander McQueen, Breward explores fashion as a cultural phenomenon.

This book adopts a case study based research approach to examine the contemporary issues in the fashion industry. It documents real-world practices in fashion business from production, marketing to operations.

This book aims to analyze the logics and instruments by which fashion companies create collections, taking into account the variety of companies' characteristics and business models. The collection development process is a critical activity for fashion, that must continuously renew its products, and is subject to increasingly strict time, cost and quality goals.

The topics covered include mood/fabric boards development, creation of original and innovative textiles as well as fashion silhouettes and garment details development through extensive research, quick design sketching, fabric manipulation, and draping experimentation.

The book teaches sewers a new technique for making garments using basic pattern blocks called slopers. Sewers learn to design shapes, style lines, and fashion details creating patterns for customized clothing.

Draping the art of using cotton muslin to create womenswear directly on a dress form is an essential skill for fashion designers. Through a series of step by step projects, designed to develop skills from the most basic to more advanced techniques, this book will guide you in creating both classic and contemporary garments, as well as historical styles and costumes.

Designed for both students and professionals, this book offers a comprehensive guide to patternmaking for menswear from the basic skills through to more advanced techniques. The book includes 20 complete patterns that show how to cut every aspect of the menswear including adaptations from basic slopers through to classic garments and trend led styles.

This vintage collection of articles offers insights into the fundamental practice of leathercraft, with a special focus on glovemaking. This early text on leather craft includes historical articles that would be both expensive and hard to find. It contains easy to follow instructions on making leather gloves, and of the designs and techniques involved.

This book discusses the connection between fast fashion brands and customer-centric sustainability. It highlights what consumers can do with fast fashion and the important aspects that need to be addressed to make fast fashion sustainable. Fast fashion is an inevitable element in today's fashion business cycle and its adverse impacts on sustainable fashion are a major issue.

Global Perspectives on Sustainable Fashion showcases the global fashion industry's efforts to reduce the negative impacts associated with fashion production and consumption. Illustrated throughout with infographics, photographs and diagrams of creative works, eighteen essays focus on six regions, examining sustainable fashion in the context of local, cultural and environmental concerns.

Consumers spend approximately $93 billion on denim products every year. This consumption comes at a great cost, with thousands of litres of fresh water, hazardous chemicals and energy contributing to just one pair of jeans, leaving the environment and the industry vulnerable to pollution and climate change.

The Author supports the thesis that the most innovative business models in the fashion sector will be based on a value proposition that integrates ethics, aesthetics and innovation, offering product customization, planning the activities for consumer's participation in the company's operations, digitalization, and use of technology in order to optimize the processes along the value chain.

Different materials, production routes, performance characteristics, application areas and functionalisation mechanisms are covered in this book. Guideline to students, researchers, academicians and technologists who seek novel solutions in the related area by including groundbreaking advancements in different aspects of the diverse smart nanotextiles fields. The diversity of the topics as well as the expert subject-matter contributors from all over the world representing various disciplines, ensure comprehensiveness and a broad understanding of smart nanotextiles..

We are on the cusp of a revolution, where the intersection of technology, the human body, and everyday objects will become completely seamless. Smart textiles are a key part of this revolution. Smart Textiles for Designers introduces the different qualities and properties that can be embedded in, integrated with, and applied to fabrics, and looks at the different contexts in which these smart textiles can be used.

This collection provides a broad overview of textiles covering historical, fundamental and industrial application topics, including vintage fashion and design; synthesis and application of cellulose derivatives and dyes; colour management and photo responsive textile applications in the field of printing; the preservation of textile objects in different environments; smart textiles; modification by physico-chemical methods for better performance and extra-properties; electronic, medical and health care applications; comfort finishing of textile materials; effects of clothing materials on the thermoregulatory response of the human body...

This practical step by step guide to haute couture embroidery covers everything from machine and hand stitching, to tambour beading, goldwork and monogramming. Whether you are interested in adding monogrammed initials to your favourite bathrobe, stitching a flower on your favourite jacket, adding sparkling beads to a new dress or creating a goldwork embellishment, Fashion Embroidery teaches you how to add a unique touch to your clothes.

The fashion business has been collecting and analyzing information about colors, fabrics, silhouettes, and styles since the 18th century activities that have long been shrouded in mystery. The Fashion Forecasters is the first book to reveal the hidden history of color and trend forecasting and to explore its relevance to the fashion business of the past two centuries.

This introduction to fashion is aimed at students of fashion design across the world. By following the design process, from historical and commercial industry context to final collection presentation, the book provides a clear guide for students as they discover what designing for fashion entails.

The book investigates the ways in which AI is impacting every part of the fashion value chain starting with product discovery and working backwards to manufacturing.