Visual Arts | Degree Course

Collecting, conserving, exhibiting and interpreting works of art of quality.

Contains many different digital objects. Search by Types of Documents > Pictures. You also have the option of selecting English if you do not read French.

Offers more than 87,000 works that are currently available online.

Over 10 million records of museum objects and more.

Browse through the Smithsonian Libraries digital collections of images, books, exhibits, and find research tools.

The Met presents over 5,000 years of art from around the world for everyone to experience and enjoy. The Museum lives in two iconic sites in New York City—The Met Fifth Avenue and The Met Cloisters. Millions of people also take part in The Met experience online.

Digitised collections of book covers, posters, prints, designers

Gives you access to tours, routes by visitors, search the museum, tickets and the collection. iOS and Android.

Five decades of Metropolitan Museum of Art publications on art history.

he National Gallery is Australia’s leading national visual arts institution. Since the building opened to the public in 1982, the Gallery has played a leadership role in shaping visual arts culture across Australia and its region.

This museum manages the University of Melbourne's art collection. View virtual exhibitions.

This gallery has a collection of British art from the 16th century to present day as well as international modern and contemporary art.

View high-quality images in extraordinary detail, discover stories of the artists and the art, get simple explanations of art terms. iOS only.

The Aboriginal Art Directory promotes Australian Indigenous art nationally and internationally.

QAGOMA holds a Collection of over 17,000 works of historical, modern and contemporary art, and stages a dynamic program of exhibitions.

Guide to art galleries in Australia.

DAAO is an open source accessible scholarly e-Research tool that presents biographical data about Australian artists, designers, craftspeople, curators.

Australia’s leading museum dedicated to exhibiting, collecting and interpreting the work of today’s artists.

Select your state and location and check out what art galleries and open and what they are exhibiting.

This website offers Australian art news, competitions and prizes.

The council's vision is for a creatively connected Australia where creative enterprise is entrenched across society, industry and government as the fuel that ignites social, cultural and economic success.

This is the National Gallery of Australia's portal for printed works from Australia, Aboriginal Australia, the Torres Strait Islands, Papua New Guinea, Maori and Pakeha Aotearoa New Zealand, New Caledonia and the Pacific region. Free online access to 16,000 images. Search the database by artist, subject or print techniques such as etching, woodcut, wood-engraving, linocut, lithograph, screen-print, monotype and other print processes. Index to online information on printmakers, print workshops, print publishers, print galleries and public and private collections.

This is Australia’s leading national visual arts institution. Since the building opened to the public in 1982, the Gallery has played a leadership role in shaping visual arts culture across Australia and its region.

Access the NGV International and NGV Australia (Ian Potter Centre) collections online

Your gateway to contemporary Australian art. Helping you make the most of your time exploring art, you can find exhibitions, learn about art galleries, view art videos, visit artist studios, find your nearest art gallery or read the latest articles about contemporary art today.

ANAT expedites experimentation and innovation across art, science and technology by identifying opportunities and delivering projects that enable artists to contribute meaningfully to Australia’s reputation for creativity, diversity and innovation.

This association leads advocacy, policy and action for a contemporary Australian arts sector that's ambitious and fair.

Here is a list of the top art prizes around Australia.

Biography and works of David Hockney

Search over 6000 artists to find their works in museum collections or browse by movement, medium, subject, or nationality.

TheArtStory.org helps millions of people each year understand and enjoy every style of art, from Classical Greek statues, to Dali’s Surrealist concoctions, to Contemporary Conceptual explorations. Content is written by experts in their fields.

This is a free tool that presents biographical data about Australian artists, designers, craftspeople and curators.

This comprises 105 of LeWitt’s large-scale wall drawings, spanning the artist’s career from 1969 to 2007. These occupy nearly an acre of specially built interior walls that have been installed—per LeWitt’s own specifications—over three stories of a historic mill building situated at the heart of MASS MoCA’s campus.

For the artist Liu Bolin, making himself “invisible” has turned his career into one that is highly visible

An interactive online catalogue raisonné of all known paintings by the artist. It was compiled under the direction of Walter Feilchenfeldt, Jayne Warman and David Nash. Register to access. Includes supplementary material.

Information about different artistic movements, art groups and specific artists.

Links to many art history resources starting with prehistoric art.

The Met pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Museum's collection.

The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) for no charge on its website. These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).

Search over 6000 artists to find their works in museum collections or browse by movement, medium, subject, or nationality.

This isground-breaking international collaboration to make information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artefacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road freely available on the Internet and to encourage their use through educational and research programmes.

Flying Arts Alliance provides step-by-step instructions to write an artist statement. "It's about the art, not about you".

Find out what is an artist statement, why write one, what type to write and how to wirte it.

Here are 7 steps to writing a better artist statement plus a checklist.

It is essential for artists to understand studio hazards and how to protect themselves and those working around them. This safety guide provides an overview of the hazards associated with the arts and is intended to help instructors safely orient their students to those hazards.

If you are a visual artist in Australia, this will help you learn about important legal issues that affect you and your work. Free or low cost specialised legal advice is provided.

Copyright Agency is an expert in rights management for visual artists. As a member, they help you look after the rights in your work and ensure you receive fair payment for its use.

This is an independent Australian online resource dedicated to the world of the arts. Greater access is provided to members.

Primary source for news, information, opportunities, advice and referrals in the Australian visual arts and craft sector.

This is a statistical overview in 2014 from the Australian Bureau of Statistics.

This is an open access evidence platform making policy research and resources accessible.

The Office supports inclusiveness and growth in Australia's creative sector, and protects and promotes Australian content and culture.

This is a forum for playful, serious, and radical perspectives on art and culture in the world today.

growing collection of images of contemporary ceramics by recognized artists.