APTC Counselling

A uniquely practical guide and widely adopted text, this book shows precisely what therapists can say at key moments to enhance the process of healing and change. Paul Wachtel explains why some communications in therapy are particularly effective, while others that address essentially the same content may actually be countertherapeutic. He offers clear and specific guidelines for how to ask questions and make comments in ways that facilitate collaborative exploration and promote change. Illustrated with vivid case examples, the book is grounded in an integrative theory that draws from features of psychodynamic, cognitive-behavioral, systemic, and experiential approaches. New to This Edition * Reflects nearly 20 years of advances in the field and refinements of the author's approach. *Broader audience: in addition to psychodynamic therapists, cognitive-behavioral therapists and others will find specific, user-friendly recommendations. *Chapter on key developments and convergences across different psychotherapeutic approaches. *Chapter on the therapeutic implications of attachment theory and research. See also Making Room for the Disavowed, which further develops Wachtel's integrative therapeutic approach, as well as Mastering the Clinical Conversation, by Matthieu Villatte, Jennifer L. Villatte, and Steven C. Hayes, which provides another vital perspective on language in psychotherapy.

"For anyone in a caring, facilitative or managing role, Counselling Skills provides a uniquely comprehensive, accessible and practical guide to interpersonal helping. It introduces a way of working that is both focused and personalised: tailored to an individual client's specific goals and preferences. The book will be invaluable to anyone who wants to help others deal with their problems." Mick Cooper, University of Strathclyde, UK "Not everyone possesses the skills required to ensure that professional communication is compassionate and supportive, but the skills can be learned and this book on Counselling Skills provides just the resource needed. Its authors have the experience as practitioners and teachers to imbue the text with wisdom derived from life, academia and counselling. The book is carefully crafted and beautifully written; it includes exercises and examples that enhance learning; it is comprehensive and completely relevant for anyone who seeks to use counselling skills competently in their work." Professor Sue Wheeler, University of Leicester, UK "The book offers a sound and accessible introduction for anyone considering formal counselling skills training ... As a bereavement counsellor I will gladly keep a place for this book on my bookshelf, as it offers a useful refresher in basic skills. I would certainly recommend it to colleagues within pastoral caring roles and other caring professions." Sally Smith, Counselling Psychology student at The University of Wolverhampton, UK This bestselling book is designed to help counselling trainees acquire and develop the skills and techniques needed to have therapeutic impact with their clients. It also provides those in the helping professions with an easy-to-follow model of 'embedded counselling' that provides tools and strategies for offering counselling relationships within a diversity of work settings. The new edition is thoroughly revised and features nine new chapters, addressing such topics as: an A-Z of practical counselling skills, dealing with difficult relationships, issues caused by cultural diversity or life transitions, and issues in loss and bereavement. The book also covers: Key counselling skills such as caring, listening, questioning and reframing, reflection, attunement to a client, challenging and giving advice Building a counselling relationship Developing understanding of clients' issues Resolving difficult feelings and emotions Ethical principles of counselling practice Working together to change behaviour Counselling Skills, 2nd edition is packed with exercises and information on recent studies, to help readers relate theory to their own practice. Written in an accessible, engaging style, with numerous case examples, this book is suitable for students taking courses or modules in counselling skills, counsellors in training, and any professionals who may provide counselling support within their roles, including teachers, doctors, community workers, social workers and nurses.

Person-Centred Therapy in Focus provides a much-needed exploration of the criticisms levelled against one of the most widespread forms of therapeutic practice. Characterized by its critics as theoretically `light′, culturally biased and limited in application, until now the person-centred approach has had comparatively little written in its defence. Paul Wilkins provides a rigorous and systematic response to the critics, drawing not only on the work of Carl Rogers, but also of those central to more recent developments in theory and practice (including Goff Barrett-Lennard, Dave Mearns, Jerold Bozarth, Germain Leitauer and Brian Thorne). It traces the epistemological foundations of person-centred therapy and places the approach in its social and political context. Examining the central tenets of the approach, each chapter sets out concisely the criticisms and then counters these with arguments from the person-centred perspective. Chapters cover debates in relation to: - the model of the person - self-actualization - the core conditions - non-directivity - resistance to psychopathology - reflection, and - boundary issues. Person-Centred Therapy in Focus fulfills two important purposes: firstly to answer the criticisms of those who have attacked the person-centred approach and secondly to cultivate a greater critical awareness and understanding within the approach itself. As such it makes a significant contribution to the person-centred literature and provides an excellent resource for use in training.

Listening well is an essential component of good leadership. You can become a more effective listener and leader by learning the skills of active listening. Working relationships become more solid, based on trust, respect, and honesty. Active listening is not an optional component of leadership; it is not a nicety to be used to make others feel good. It is, in fact, a critical component of the tasks facing today's leaders. In this new edition, we've added tips and advice dealing with virtual active listening, and incorporated up-to-date research from both inside and outside CCL to make sure you can best meet the leadership challenges you face in today's world.

Trust this bestselling resource to provide you with the clearest introduction to the major approaches in counselling. Written by expert counsellor and bestselling author Margaret Hough, this textbook provides the clearest overview and introduction to the subject. It covers the major approaches to the field, how they interrelate and how you can put them into practice. Suitable for a wide range of qualifications from Foundation courses to Higher Education, it will help you to understand the nature of counselling, the skills you will need to develop and how to overcome the challenges you might face in this rewarding profession. This new edition, now in full colour, provides up-to-date research on topics such as ethics in counselling and the importance of both supervision and person-centred care in residential and hospital settings. - Navigate your way easily with the book's clear language and structure - Translate theory into practice with realistic case studies, exercises and other useful features - Develop your knowledge with extended coverage of cognitive behavioural therapy, Brief therapy and online counselling - Further your understanding with expanded coverage of working with younger clients, counselling for trauma and disaster and psychodynamic theories

Sustaining Social Inclusion is the third book in a series on social exclusion and social inclusion. It explores what different understandings of sustainability mean in respect of social inclusion in the variety of fields that deal with human health and well-being. The book is global in its scope, with chapters relating to socially inclusive health and social welfare practice internationally. This book is divided into seven parts: Introduction; Sustainable policies for promoting social inclusion; Sustaining programmes which support social inclusion; Sustaining organisations which promote social inclusion; Sustainable social inclusion outcomes; Sustainable social development; and Conclusions. It examines how social inclusion can be sustained in the long-term when funding tends to be time-limited. This research-based book is relevant to a wide range of different readerships globally. It addresses issues of concern for those engaged in debates about the provision of health, social welfare, and other public services. Sustaining Social Inclusion will be of interest to academics, policy makers, and practitioners in a wide range of fields, including public health, health promotion, health sciences, history, medicine, philosophy, disability studies, social work, social policy, sociology, and urban planning.