LibGuides: Assignment and Study Help: Resources Outside TAFE Queensland Library

Resources

Other Libraries
Online Resources

These online and physical library collections contain resources that may be useful for your assignments and ongoing learning.

State Library of Queensland
A free to join library that holds historical and modern collections including academic books and databases. It is especially good for material related to Queensland.
National Library of Australia
Can join for free and access databases and other e-resources through the website.
TROVE
This website allows you to search the catalogues of libraries across Australia to find items, as well as providing access to digitised resources like photographs, newspapers, and journal articles.

Some scholarly resources are freely available to read online and download through open access publishing. These can be used during your studies and after you graduate. Other resources that do not need a subscription such as professional organisation websites within your subject guide will also be available.

Online Open Access Resources

Google Scholar
Google Scholar searches online university repositories and academic information. Not all results will be free to read.

DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals across a broad range of research areas.

Directory of Open Access Books
Downloadable peer-reviewed books covering a wide range of subjects.
OATD - Open Access Theses and Dissertations
This database provides links to open access theses and dissertations from around the world.
SAGE Open
Open access social sciences journal
Taylor & Francis Open
Make sure to select Open Access filter when searching
JSTOR Open Content
JSTOR Open provides free access to book chapters, journal articles and research reports across a wide variety of subjects
Springer Open
These open access journals cover science, the humanities, technology, medicine and social sciences.
Eric
Database containing educational research. Use the open access filter while searching to get freely available results if you have graduated.
Khan Academy (YouTube)
Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. They tackle math, science, computer programming, history, art history, economics, and more.