Assignment and Study Help

While studying at TAFE Queensland, you will need to use academic writing for your assessments. 

Using resources such as the Oxford Learner's Dictionary academic word list can help you understand and use academic terminology while writing. If you are studying a field such as nursing or justice, in which specialised terminology is used heavily, you may wish to use a subject-relevant dictionary as well. 

When you are writing, you will need to include the research you have used as evidence, to prove any assertions you make.  

The following key features of academic writing may help you with writing assessments. 

While this video mentions writing at a university level, it gives helpful advice about how to use academic writing conventions and avoid sounding informal. 

Content in Southern Cross University StudyHub, unless otherwise noted, is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Images and logos from: Pixabay or Unsplash.

The simplest way to effectively use paraphrases and quotes in your assessments is to ensure all body paragraphs follow the PEEL structure. It might seem strange, but paragraphs are the building blocks of academic writing. Getting the structure of body paragraphs right will make assessment writing much easier, and improve your results. PEEL body paragraphs are around 150-200 words or 6-7sentences long, and concern one key point.

It is called a PEEL structure because:

• the first sentence (“P” sentence) clearly states the key point of the paragraph
• the next 4-5 “E” sentences elaborate, explain and explore this same point using reliable evidence
• the final “L” sentence sums up the key point in a way that reinforces the link to the overall response, and links to the focus of the next paragraph.

The PEEL structure is a template that you can use every time you write a body paragraph. It is the secret to mastering an evidence-rich writing style that includes your voice and critical thinking. Using the PEEL body paragraph structure also makes it much easier for the marker to see how you have met assessment requirements.

Content in Southern Cross University StudyHub, unless otherwise noted, is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Images and logos from: Pixabay or Unsplash.

How do I write an Annotated Bibliography? 

An 'annotated bibliography' lists the sources used in a research topic, including a description and an evaluation of the resource used. 

This article provides an overview of what an annotated bibliography is and how to write one. 

When writing an annotated bibliography consider: 

Purpose of the resource: 

• How relevant is it?  

• Is it peer reviewed? 

•  Is it a reliable source?  

There are three essential elements: 

• The full bibliographic citation (also known as a reference). 

• A short statement explaining the focus and purpose of the resource.  

• A short summary of the information presented including any research findings, arguments or conclusions. 

Format: 

• Be sure to use the correct referencing style and format as directed by your teacher.  

• APA or Harvard are the most common referencing styles used at TAFE Queensland. 

• The TAFE Queensland Library Referencing Guide provides examples of how to cite/reference using either APA or Harvard referencing systems.  

Short answer responses are a common form of assessment, and the following tips will help you create them to a high standard. Check the PEEL paragraph tab to see more about creating paragraphs. 

This content was copied from the Southern Cross University StudyHub.

Content in Southern Cross University StudyHub, unless otherwise noted, is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Images and logos from: Pixabay or Unsplash.

A case study requires you to apply theory [unit concepts + literature] to a practical ‘real life’ scenario i.e. ‘the case’. You may be required to present your case study in an essay, report, or short response format, so always be sure to check your task description and marking rubric carefully for details.

Most case study responses will be either analytical or problem oriented.

Analytical case studies answer specific questions and/or discuss key points as instructed in task guidelines. Problem oriented studies identify problems, issues and ‘need for action’ and suggest solutions/actions. 

With some tasks you may be provided with the case details of a hypothetical scenario, with others, you may need to observe, or research the case details yourself. The most important thing to remember is that your case study response will always require a combination of two types of information.

All case studies require theory which is unit concepts and literature, and case information which is real life examples or scenarios. 

For a paragraph example and more information, see this page. 

Reflective assessments can be formatted in a number of ways, and each discipline approaches the reflective process in their own way. However, assessment details will explain how to structure your reflection, and your units will teach the exact process of critical self-reflection you need to follow.

Do not start writing too soon. It is important to first work through the reflective process. Think of it as a key research phase that helps you to gather examples of “the personal” needed to write your assessment.

Reflective assessment tasks usually use two key types of evidence: referenced definitions of unit concepts and theory, and specific examples of “the personal” described in a bit of detail.

Leading with “the personal” is the other option. This involves using the first sentence to state your reflective insight (what you have learned via the reflective process), and then link to theory.

The example below is virtually the same paragraph as above, except it leads with “the personal”.

Content in Southern Cross University StudyHub, unless otherwise noted, is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Images and logos from: Pixabay or Unsplash.

Once you have sorted your ideas into a logical sequence and you have an introduction and conclusion, you can start on the first draft of your assignment.

Don't worry too much about spelling and punctuation at this point. Instead, focus on reading the draft and ask yourself:

• How well does the essay or report answer the assignment question?
• Is the message making sense?
• Are there any areas which need to be clarified or explained more clearly?
• Is there a smooth transition between the introduction, body and conclusion?
• Do I need to do more research?
• Do I have the reference details of research sources used in the draft?

Construct the second draft to revise and reshape the assignment.

• Check spelling and punctuation - remember spell checkers on computers can help but do not rely solely on them.
• Check consistency, for example terms used, spelling, capitalisation and punctuation
• Create a reference list of resources cited in your assignment.

Proofread your final draft:

• Proofread aloud, this will enable you to hear awkward sentence structures and mistakes in your writing that you do not notice when reading silently.
• Proofread with a friend. Read it to a friend and get them to check the printed copy.
• Allow some time between proofreading and submitting the assignment to allow for revising and reshaping.

Have you covered everything required for your assignment?

To help you work this out use this checklist as a guide:

Introduction

• Does the introduction explain the assignment question?

Body (paragraphs)

• Does each paragraph contribute to answering the question?
• Does each paragraph have a clear topic sentence?
• Does each paragraph concentrate on one idea only?
• Is the argument supported by relevant sources / reasons / examples?
• Do the number of paragraphs adequately address all aspects of the assignment question?

Conclusion

• Does this section provide an overview of the main ideas of the essay?
• Is any new evidence introduced in the conclusion?

Style

• Are your sentences clear?
• Are your word choices helpful in describing what you want to say?
• Are there unnecessary sentences that don’t add value to the overall essay?
• Are the paragraphs more than two sentences in length?
• Does each paragraph connect with those before and after?
• Is there repetition of information?

Use of sources

• Are sources current, relevant and authoritative?
• Are in-text references included to avoid plagiarism?
• Are references formatted in the required style?
• Is there a variety of sources – books, reports, websites, articles etc?