Sports & Recreation

This comprehensive guide for soccer conditioning includes proven techniques to improve speed, strength, power, and agility; position-specific training guidelines; and injury prevention, management, and return-to-play protocols.

Coaching Better Every Season: A Year Round System for Athlete Development and Program Success provides a detailed blueprint for coaches, including proven methods and best practices in the preseason, in-season, postseason, and off season. Dr. Wade Gilbert's research supported and field tested prescriptions and protocols will produce more positive results and a more professional approach to coaching.

The Real Giants of Soccer Coaching is a collection of the curated thoughts of nearly 30 top soccer coaches around the globe. In this book, you will gain access to the depth and breadth of experience from some of the best coaches across all areas of the beautiful game. You will learn theoretical details about tactical periodization, positional play, and the science of motor learning. You will also learn from Youth National Team Coaches, NCAA National Championship winning coaches, and First Division Coaches from top European clubs.

This book delves into the mental training behind the physical training. Readers learn about the importance of team building and motivation, the strategies that are used in different positions on the soccer team, and the history of soccer.

If you are serious about fitness, health, and performance, then Heart Rate Training, Second Edition, is for you. With a myriad of affordable smartphone apps and wearable devices enabling you to track your body's response to activity, it's never been easier to use heart rate monitoring to customize your training and this guide will show you how!

Athletic Movement Skills will show you how to develop multi directional speed and power for any sport and any position, improve jumping and agility with effective plyometric progressions, harness and apply power in critical game or match situations, evaluate and correct posture and body position, reduce injuries and expedite rehabilitation and create functional strength progressions.

Using step by step instructions for 27 of the most effective foam rolling techniques for muscle preparation and recovery you will reduce pain and restore function with therapeutic movements that help rehabilitate your body and reduce the risk of injury.

Exercises for Parkinson's Disease is the authoritative exercise guide for men and women who suffer from Parkinson's Disease. Studies have found exercise improves fitness and energy levels as well as relieves pain in people with Parkinson's Disease. Exercises for Parkinson's Disease features easy to follow exercises and workout plans that optimises mobility, increases strength, and minimises pain.

Featuring 40 exercises, 127 workouts, and a full 15-week program, The Modern Art of High Intensity Training offers a visually stunning presentation of all things high intensity. Along with covering the five principles of high intensity training, its eye-catching illustrations convey the strength, power, and beauty of the movements.

Your journey through a comfortable, safe, and confident pregnancy begins with Pregnancy Fitness. This practical guide answers your questions and delivers the information, exercises, and workouts you need to maintain your personal fitness and enjoy the best possible experience in welcoming your baby to the world.

What are the biggest obstacles to sticking to a workout plan? You don't have enough time? It costs too much? You don't have enough equipment? You don't know how to get the results you want? Now you can set those excuses aside. Smarter Workouts

To be a top athlete in your chosen sport takes more than just consistent practice. Learn their secrets and how to integrate them into your existing exercise program.

Bring the strength and breathing power of yoga to the sports you love--and seriously up your game! Yoga routines designed specifically for swimming, running, cycling, golf, tennis, baseball, football, volleyball, basketball, skiing, snowboarding, weight lifting, kickboxing, boxing, CrossFit, and more.

This book shows athletes how to overcome barriers to agility and quickness. Here is the best training advice, drills and programs to optimise athlete's linear and lateral movements.

This book teaches you how to properly assess clients, design effective training programs, and progress and regress exercises based on individual client goals

A revised and updated second edition of the popular Complete Guide to Personal Training. Aimed at anyone working as, or training to be a Personal Trainer.

Learn how to set health goals, create fitness plans, and read about different gym machines and how to use them both safely and effectively.

Designed to assist students undertaking the SIS30315 Certificate III in Fitness qualification, The Essential Guide to Fitness provides students with the knowledge, skills and hands on practice required to work as fitness professionals.

Designed to assist students undertaking the SIS40215 Certificate IV in Fitness qualification, Fitness Trainer Essentials 3e teaches the basics of fitness and nutrition principles, functional testing, nutritional assessment, and guidelines.

The first comprehensive fitness instruction and training programme design resource to explore the evidence-base of effective programme design. Uses cutting-edge scientific research to identify optimum training methods and dispel some common myths around fitness training.

Hockey Anatomy presents 96 exercises with 68 variations to improve on-ice performance. Highly detailed anatomical drawings highlight muscle groups used during exercise and during games.

Elite players, coaches, and trainers rely on plyometrics to develop power, agility, speed, strength, body control, balance, and overall athletic performance. With this authoritative guide on plyometrics, you can too.

Muscle hypertrophy defined as an increase in muscular size is one of the primary outcomes of resistance training. Science and Development of Muscle Hypertrophy is a comprehensive compilation of science based principles to help professionals develop muscle hypertrophy in athletes and clients.

The Mobility Workout Handbook is your complete guide to incorporating this critical aspect of fitness into your workout routines. Exercise, paired with proper mobility training, is what enables professional athletes to work to their fullest potential without fear of injury or burnout, and now you can too.

The ultimate guide to running injuries, covering prevention, detection, and rehabilitation. Learn how to avoid and manage the most common running injuries that occur to the foot, ankle, lower leg, knee, hip, and pelvis.

In Sport Therapy for the Shoulder: Evaluation, Rehabilitation, and Return to Sport, readers will learn about best practices and evidence-based guidelines for assessing and treating patients' shoulder injuries for re-entry into sport.

Are you looking for the key to optimal performance? Increased speed, power, and agility? What you need is a complete flexibility training system--one designed for today's athlete and made up of dynamic stretches that mirror sport-specific movement. And you should also have the skills to assess exactly what your body needs at any time. That complete program is found in Stretch to Win.

The book covers selecting equipment--including discussions of the advantages and disadvantages of products such as the internal frame pack, lighter-weight boots, and freestanding tents -The latest "leave no trace" camping techniques -Traveling safely and sensibly--including vital information on maps, compasses, and tips on crossing difficult terrain -Backcountry cooking, with tips on building fires and tricks for making gourmet meals -Search-and-rescue techniques, including how to organize a self-sufficient search group and when to call in professional rescue teams

Sport Management: Principles and Applications tells you everything you need to know about the contemporary sport industry. Covering both the professional and nonprofit sectors, and with more international material than any other introductory sport management textbook, it focuses on core management principles and their application in a sporting context, highlighting the unique challenges of a career in sport management. The book contains useful features throughout, including conceptual overviews, guides to further reading, links to important websites, study questions, and up-to-date case studies showing how theory works in the real world.

Create great schedules in minutes! Organizing Successful Tournaments contains the tools for structuring, scheduling, and administering leagues and tournaments. All types of competitions are covered: single and double elimination, multilevel, ladder, pyramid, level rotation, and round-robin. Includes web access to over 2,700 customizable templates.