Sports & Recreation

This manual is by one of the biggest names in kayaking. Colour photo action sequences show how to perfect skills and apply them. Maps, tables, and diagrams show essential planning steps. No matter which type of kayak, paddle, or style of paddling you use, the appropriate techniques are described from beginner to expert.

This illustrated 'how to' guide to kayaking has authoritative information for beginners and experienced paddler. In color with easy-to-follow, step-by-step photographic sequences and action images, the manual covers everything from flat water through to ocean paddling, white water and surfing. The book also explains clothing and equipment needed for every type of kayaking, boats and paddle, weather, hydrodynamics, safety and rescue.

This book provides practical advice on where to paddle, clothing and equipment, how to get into a kayak and a canoe, how to capsize safely, how to hold the paddle, and the skills needed to move and roll the boat shown in more than 600 photographs and diagrams. There is essential advice on clothing and equipment, reading weather conditions and understanding hydrodynamics. .

This is a thoroughly modern introduction to this growing adventure sport, written by an experienced mountain guide, photographer and author. From getting started with equipment, clothing, fitness and basic skills through to advanced techniques and coping with tricky situations, this manual is packed with practical step-by-step sequences and inspirational photography, making it the perfect guide for the novice or intermediate climber.

Detailed information is provided for all of the important facets, including purchasing the right bike, upgrades, accessorizing, bike set-up, bike care, skills training and how to maximize your performance on the trails, fitness training, trail dangers, trail etiquette, and much more. Everyone from the beginner to the more advanced rider will benefit from the depth and variety of advice and tips.

With firsthand advice and personal experiences from world champion Brian Lopes, this book includes high-quality photos, detailed instruction, and techniques and tips for every skill level and riding style.

Many people suffer from temporary or chronic musculoskeletal issues that cause pain and discomfort when performing even the simplest forms of physical activity.

Sport coaches have a tremendous influence positive or negative in the lives of athletes. Too often, however, the delivery of quality coaching is left to chance. Athletes deserve coaches who create positive environments, In Coach Education Essentials, leading coach educators and professionals from around the world cover the core elements of coach education and development, and describe how best to understand, cultivate, and evaluate quality coaching.

This brand new sixth edition helps readers understand the latest research and practices related to training theory. Plus, it provides scientific support for the fundamental principles of periodization. Updates include expanded chapter content on methods for developing muscle strength. As well as, more detailed explanations of speed and agility training for individual and team sports.

This book incorporates group dynamics, training principles and business development strategies to create a new stream of revenue. It provides strategies to build clientele and teaches the instructor how to use group dynamics concepts and social interaction to increase performance, client adherence and enjoyment.

For many runners, running technique is an after thought one they don't think about until an injury or plateau keeps them from achieving their goals. Running Form underscores the importance of proper form and shows you how to elevate your performance to the greatest possible extent with the smallest risk of injury.

The top resource for strength band training is now expanded, updated, and better than ever! Strength Band Training shows you how to maximize strength, speed, and flexibility in the gym, at home, or on the road. With more than 160 exercises and predesigned workouts for fitness and sport specific training, you will discover why strength bands are the ultimate tool for targeting, isolating, rehabilitating, and developing every major muscle group.

Swimming is often touted as one of the most accessible workouts low impact, low tech, and beneficial at any stage of life. Yet each time you suit up and dive in, your body's moving parts must work together to propel you through dozens of pounds of water resistance, somehow emulating the movements of species that evolved specifically for the water.

Show your athletes how yoga can propel their performance to the next level. Teaching Power Yoga for Sports prepares you to develop and teach yoga programs that are directly relatable to specific sports and player positions, resulting in more resilient athletes who consistently compete at the top of their game.

Athletes do not all train the same way, but it is rare to see any athlete at any level exercise or compete without warming up. Although the warm-up can take many forms, smart coaches and athletes know that the warm-up should be a part of any training session.

This book takes the guesswork out of weight training and provides you with a no-nonsense approach that will guide you toward your wight training goals.Use either free weights or machines. Learn which exercises target what muscles and how to perform each one correctly and safely. You are shown how to create a program to achieve your goals.

Aquatic fitness is not just for older adults or those with physical limitations. Water exercise is a proven fitness activity that is challenging and fun for all age groups and abilities. It offers reduced impact options for group exercise, small group fitness, and personal training. As the primary preparation resource for the certification exam of the Aquatic Exercise Association (AEA), Aquatic Fitness Professional Manual.

Running a personal training business is not easy. From marketing and sales to budgets, staffing, and clientele issues there is much to consider. Getting it right takes time, time that you would probably rather spend improving your clients' fitness and wellness. The Business of Personal Training walks you through the business-based side of personal training while teaching you the valuable skills you'll need to start, build, and grow your business.

This book will assist students undertaking SIS30315 Certificate III in Fitness, studying to become fitness instructors. The text contains all the core units and elective units to support a range of fitness specialisations. Students gain an understanding of basic anatomy and nutrition and of varying types of fitness and exercise programs.

This book has been written for Certificate III. The text provides you with a background in anatomy, physiology and nutrition. It also introduces you to fitness orientation and programming, types of equipment and working with specific groups. It includes lots of real-world examples and activities plus illustrations and colour diagrams to help you apply what you've learnt

Ensuring high levels of performance and safety in hot climates is a key consideration for sport scientists and coaches. Maximising Performance in Hot Environmentsis the first book with a project based approach to focus solely on exercise in this common climactic condition, providing students and coaches with a clear and concise introduction to working with athletes in the heat.

ain the competitive edge with the innovative training methods in Pilates and Conditioning for Athletes. This science-based, multidimensional approach to athletic conditioning helps you build a strong and flexible foundation by infusing Pilates into your training regime.

This book incorporates group dynamics, training principles and business development strategies to create a new stream of revenue. It provides strategies to build clientele and teaches the instructor how to use group dynamics concepts and social interaction to increase performance, client adherence and enjoyment.

The popularity of high-intensity interval training (HIIT), which consists primarily of repeated bursts of high-intensity exercise, continues to soar because its effectiveness and efficiency have been proven in use by both elite athletes and general fitness enthusiasts. Science and Application of High-Intensity Interval Training provides practitioners and athletes an understanding of the foundational principles of HIIT programming.

Volunteers are central to providing opportunities to play sport, whether helping to run sports clubs, helping in school sport or at sports events. This volume focuses on the volunteers who support clubs.

Every workout is intended to do one thing: maximize results. Whether that result is fitness, function and performance, fat loss, or physique improvements, you want your efforts to pay off. What if you had the opportunity to have the NSCA Personal Trainer of the Year observe your workout and show you how you could make it better? Now you do have access to that expertise, with Your Workout PERFECTED.

Elite sportspeople excel because sport has changed their brains - moulded them through many thousands of hours of practice and graft. But neuroscience and psychology can offer shortcuts that anyone can take advantage of. New tools and techniques can help aspiring athletes of all levels learn faster, play better and perform under pressure.

Contains step by step instruction to work with 290 full-colour illustrations describing 157 exercises and variations and 49 programs for strengthening, sculpting, and developing your arms, chest, back, shoulders, abs, legs , and glutes.

Dynatomy: Dynamic Human Anatomy With DVD brings to life the wonders of human movement and applied anatomy. The book is for students of human performance who have completed an introductory human anatomy course and need a strong text in functional anatomy. The entertaining and easy to understand text considers fundamental movements including posture, walking, running, jumping, throwing, kicking, and lifting together with selected exercise and sport movements.

The text is complemented by medical and infographic-like artwork to illustrate complex systems. These systems are then applied to real-world practice and training principles to help clients achieve the desired results. Pedagogical aids support students, and professionals will be better equipped to design exercise programs for various populations and to explain to clients the principles that will help them achieve their goals.

Following the bestselling The China Study Cookbook, LeAnne Campbell brings together top names in the plant based community to share their favorite and most delicious recipes in The China Study All-Star Collection. Featuring your favorite chefs and cookbooks authors, includes foods from Happy Herbivore chef Lindsay S. Nixon; Del Sroufe, author of the New York Times bestseller Forks Over Knives Cookbook; Laura Theodore, host of PBS' Jazzy Vegetarian; and pioneering researcher Dr. John McDougall, which all follow the nutrition standards set forth by The China Study..

Indulge in the revised and expanded edition of the bestselling China Study Cookbook with more than 175 mouthwatering recipes and stunning all new photography With 2 million copies sold, The China Study has been hailed as one of the most important health and nutrition books ever published.

Michelin starred chef, world champion athlete and leading sports nutritionist Alan Murchison presents more than 75 delicious, easy to make and nutritionally balanced meals to help cyclists of all levels reach their cycling performance goals. An optimized diet, whatever your potential, will help you reach your personal performance ceiling or cycling level.

All athletes, from Olympians to weekend warriors, must find the balance between training and recovery to maximize the benefits of workouts and reach optimal performance. For the longest time, coaches and training manuals have emphasized training. However, studies show that recovery is a crucial component of exercise training and it may even be the most important one.

A comprehensive resource for nutrition and exercise science students which explores the fundamentals of sports nutrition.

The revised and expanded edition of the bestseller that changed millions of lives The science is clear. The results are unmistakable. You can dramatically reduce your risk of cancer, heart disease, and diabetes just by changing your diet. More than 30 years ago, nutrition researcher T. Colin Campbell and his team at Cornell, in partnership with teams in China and England, embarked upon the China Study, the most comprehensive study ever undertaken of the relationship between diet and the risk of developing disease.

In 2005, T. Colin Campbell, PhD, and Thomas Campbell, MD, co-authored The China Study, in which they detailed the groundbreaking research results showing that a whole-food, plant-based diet has the potential to prevent and reverse many chronic diseases. The China Study became a worldwide phenomenon, selling more than a million copies and inspiring countless readers to reinvigorate their health by making better food choices.

Gain the plant-based advantage! Join the thousands of runners, bodybuilders, and athletes from virtually every sport who rely on foods and beverages made without animal products. Every day an increasing number of athletes, even those who are not fully vegetarian or vegan, incorporate a plant-based diet when training or recovering from competition.

The Athlete's Guide to Diabetes has the training and performance advice you need to remain active while effectively managing your condition. Renowned researcher and diabetes expert Dr. Sheri Colberg offers best practices and tips for managing blood glucose levels for athletes of all ages with type 1 and type 2 diabetes...

The first ever comprehensive guide to exercise after life-changing weight-loss surgery Bariatric surgery is a highly effective way to take control of your weight. But it's only one part of the solution. The helpful advice and proven fitness program in this book provide the tools you need to make sure your bariatric surgery produces sustained weight loss. Packed with easy to follow instructions and step by step photos, Bariatric Fitness for Your New Life informs, educates and outlines functional exercise programs.

Exercises for Parkinson's Disease is the authoritative exercise guide for men and women who suffer from Parkinson's Disease. Studies have found exercise improves fitness and energy levels as well as relieves pain in people with Parkinson's Disease. Exercises for Parkinson's Disease features easy to follow exercises and workout plans that optimises mobility, increases strength, and minimises pain. Designed with safety as its number one priority, the exercises in the book are clearly photographed in easy to follow sequences and contain complete descriptions.

Physical Activity Instruction of Older Adults, Second Edition, is the most comprehensive text available for current and future fitness professionals who want to design and implement effective, safe, and fun physical activity programs for older adults with diverse functional capabilities. Along with an updated review of the research and literature, the second edition introduces a new chapter on the concept of whole-person wellness. It offers strategies for integrating the six dimensions of whole-person wellness.

A lively, thoroughly researched tour of the latest in fitness science and technology, and the strategies of elite and amateur athletes who are performing at peak levels for decades longer than before.

Most competitive sports require rapid whole-body movements in which athletes need to accelerate, decelerate, and change direction in response to game situations. That's why coaches, athletes, and strength and conditioning professionals are constantly searching for the most effective ways to improve agility and quickness.

The leading textbook in sport and exercise psychology is back in a revised seventh edition, and it again raises the bar with its engaging introduction to the field. Foundations of Sport and Exercise Psychology, Seventh Edition With Web Study Guide, offers both students and new practitioners a comprehensive view of sport and exercise psychology, drawing connections between research and practice and capturing the excitement of the world of sport and exercise.

Only about a third of children and under half of adults are meeting Australia’s Physical Activity and Sedentary Behaviour Guidelines. Most children exceed the recommended amount of screen-based activity time, while time spent sitting at leisure goes up in adults as they get older...

This book features full-color anatomical illustrations and step-by-step instructions for dozens of the most effective stretches to eliminate and help put you on the path to feeling better and living without pain.

Water fitness classes are popular. But how do you, as an instructor or trainer, keep them fresh? How do you continue to challenge your participants, who have varied interests and goals? This book includes over 150 ready-to-use lesson plans.

Contemporary sport is both a sophisticated and complex international business and a mass participatory practice run largely by volunteers and community organisations. Now in a fully revised and expanded second edition, this authoritative and comprehensive introduction to the theory and practice of sports management helps to explain the modern commercial environment that shapes sport at all levels and gives clear and sensible guidance on best practice in sports management, from elite sport to the local level.

Sport Facility and Event Management provides readers with a working knowledge of how to manage sport facilities and how to plan, manage, implement, and evaluate sport events. The text integrates timely theoretical insights with real world practicality and application, affording readers a strong foundation in facility and event management.

As professionalism has developed, those involved with sport, be they players, managers, administrators or supporters, are increasingly looking to the law to protect their rights and resolve their problems. This textbook examines all the various principles of law, including tort and criminal liability, taxation, contract, intellectual property and industrial relations and the role they play in the world of Australian sport.

This book critically explores sport related tourism drawing on the fields of sport management, the sociology of sport, consumer behavior, sports marketing, economic, urban and sports geography, and tourism studies. It presents multidisciplinary perspectives of sport tourism, as structured by the geographical concepts of space, place and environment.

This reference will help you to appreciate and avoid these often unfairly maligned animals. Identification is made easy through clear distribution maps, colour photos and other useful aids. And in the unlikely event that you have an unpleasant encounter with one of these creatures, the comprehensive first-aid and medical-treatment section will be invaluable.

This one-stop manual for treating and preventing sports injuries covers everything you need to know, including first aid and physiotherapy. Produced in collaboration with the British Medical Association, this fully illustrated sports injury manual ensures reliable, up to date information.

Your clients and athletes demand and deserve customized, adaptable solutions when injury or chronic pain impairs movement and performance. Known for its whole body approach to fitness, Pilates is the perfect way to help your patients recover, rehabilitate, and reach their goals.