Hospitality

This is a truly unique offering because each recipe is an award-winning creation from one of the world's top cocktail mixologists, accompanied by the mixologists profile, the story behind the creation of their recipes, the competition won and a guide to recreating their fabulous mixes. There is a coloured photograph of each drink.

Red or white? Cabernet or merlot? Light or bold? What to pair with food? Drinking great wine isn’t hard, but finding great wine does require a deeper understanding of the fundamentals. Make sense of it all with this unique infographic wine book.

Full of the eye-catching visuals and easy-to-grasp advice that the brand has become known for, Wine Folly Deluxe comes complete with a fresh look, twice as much information on regions, and a profusion of new and alternative wine styles.

How do you think you are doing verses how well you are doing. How to motivate the team and say the right things? How to ensure that service becomes a culture, not just a list of tasks? This short book holds all the best advice and experience gained from the worlds top 50 restaurants, small neighbourood restaurant owners who have been in business for fifty years, to advice gained from Michelin Star restaurants.

Enter the customer experience revolution. In a now saturated market, a business owner's primary concern has turned to customer attention and loyalty. Customers these days are spoilt for choice, starving for attention and want their needs met¿ and fast. Understanding your customers' needs and desires is now the competitive playground.

When it comes to customer satisfaction, consistency is king not the customer. While it's been proven that customer satisfaction can greatly impact many financial aspects of a business from cash flow to profitability and share price most companies have not considered the science behind customer service or built a system for it.

An increasing number of people have food allergies or require special diets, and they are dining out more often. As a food service professional, how do you accommodate the needs of these customers?

This textbook offers students a guide to the influence of culture on service providers as well as its influence on customers, affecting both the supply and demand sides of the industry - organisational behaviour and human resource management, and marketing and consumer behaviour. Given the demand for delivering superior customer value, understanding different cultures from both host and guest sides of tourism and hospitality and the impact of culture on these international industries is an essential part of all students' learning.

Beverage Services Skills is the only Australian textbook that focuses on providing comprehensive content covering the five units of competency and forming a fully rounded skill set for people working in the hospitality industry.

Suitable for student studying courses in foodservice management or administration; hospitality management; quantity food purchasing and/or production; foodservice financial management and marketing; menu planning and related topics

How the hospitality team member programme works, Alcoholic beverage service standards. How the standards map to the tasks, task progress checklist , Introduction, Core hospitality, Business People, Hospitality specialist. Glossary of key terms.

Complete coverage of all aspects of dining room service, with real-life examples and updated information on technology in the industry. In The Professional Server, students get an introduction to the many aspects of being a professional server, and experienced servers get an excellent reference to consult for various techniques and service situations they face in their day-to-day work.

This is a valuable resource for your restaurant or bar. Wait staff will learn how to create exceptional service for your guest. The most important part of the restaurant server training manual is the six steps of service. Basically, your managers, servers and greeters will learn and memorize the six steps of service. Your employees will live the steps of service from shift to shift.

Whether you are a new restaurant or an existing restaurant, the restaurant training manual will be the perfect guide to train your management and staff members. This guide covers all aspects of restaurant management and operations.

Enhance your understanding with definitions of key terms. Check your knowledge with 'Test Your Learning' short-answer questions. Put your learning into context with practical, service-based 'In Practice' activities and gain confidence in your skills, with guidance from trusted authors.

This book provides the required volume of learning and a fully rounded skill set for people looking to qualify for the hospitality industry.

The authors take you on a journey from farm to plate and provide you with everything you need to know for choosing, pairing, and enjoying the rich, delicious and varied types of cheeses from around the world.

Arranged A-Z by food at one end and A-Z by wine at the other, this unique handbook will help you make more informed, more creative, and more delicious choices about what to eat and drink.

From simple classics to the complex and modern, nearly 100 recipes demonstrate varied cooking techniques, discuss flavor profiles, and outline the appropriate steps for choosing accompanying wines. Experts delve into why combinations work, avoiding pitfalls and how to use skills to develop successful food and wine pairings on your own.

The leading guide to managing profitable hotel operations. Extensively revised to reflect the industry's rapid changes, this widely popular guide presents rich detail about best practices and future directions in the hotel industry, while offering the widest coverage of any book in the field.

Learn to create a menu using the same planning process used by professional menu planners. Menus are marketing mechanisms, cost control tools, and critical communication devices for successful food service operations. Includes the various menu styles and how to cost recipes and determine menu prices.

The book contains simplicity in diversity and touches almost all the important points which are required to understand the concept of Front office operation and management that is reservation, check-in to check-out and further leads to the advance stage that is Night Audit, Revenue Reports, PMS, GDS Hotel Statistic Reports, Room Forecasting, yield management, sales promotion, resorts and cruise and other aspects.

This is an A-Z guide to workplace safety that is 100% compliant with Australia’s health and safety laws. It’s full of practical advice, handy tips and solutions for all your workplace safety issues, and is designed specifically to help you understand and meet all your health and safety duties. Plus, it contains information on the relevant legislation for every jurisdiction in Australia.

The text is organized into four sections: hospitality and lodging; beverages, restaurants, and managed services; tourism, recreation, attractions, clubs, and gaming; and assemblies, events, attractions, leadership, and management. Each section includes real-world profiles, first-hand accounts, and engaging case studies to help readers connect with the material and foster an appreciation of the industry's unique enthusiasm and passion.

The workbook format enables learners to practice and improve their maths and English skills and the real-life questions, exercises and scenarios are all written with a Catering and Hospitality context to help students find essential Maths and English theory understandable, engaging and achievable. This workbook is an invaluable resource to support Maths and English learning in the classroom, at work and for personal study at home.

The past decade has seen an explosion in the number of boutique hotels the world over. Through clever branding and unique interiors, they capture our dreams and yearnings, providing refuge for vacationers and weary business travelers alike.

Covering all aspects of the industry - from commodities and nutrition, to planning, resourcing and running each of the key operational areas - this book is an essential text for anyone training to work in the hospitality industry.

Hospitality is a huge umbrella industry encompassing a wide variety of careers in guest lodging, event planning, and transportation. This volume explores the intersection between technology and hospitality, revealing the ways in which computers and coding drive and expand the field of guest services.

Content is presented in a visually engaging fashion, with bite-sized chunks of information together with bulleted lists, charts, tables, spider-grams and more to help ensure students engage with the content in a meaningful way.

For Introduction to Hospitality courses   Exploring the Hospitality Industry helps readers advance in their careers by giving them a broad foundation of hospitality industry knowledge presented in a lively, visually appealing, engaging manner.

This study guide contains comprehensive coverage of all three Mandatory Focus Areas for the HSC Hospitality course, plus both Stream Focus Areas.

This book discusses the basic concept of hospitality and the management of food and beverage. It includes the idea of laundry management, and planning and design process in the field of hospitality. This book also discusses about safety and hospitality management along with the technological advancements in the management of hospitality industry, the concept of customer satisfaction and sustainability and also the need analysis for training in the hospitality industry.

A concise, practical guide that provides the skills and knowledge for current and future managers across the hospitality industry. With a `how to do' agenda, the authors offer a practical guide to the skills and knowledge needed by those who will be managing bars, restaurants and hotels in the fast moving hospitality retailing contexts.

This book has a practical case-based approach to develop critical thinking and problem-solving skills in future hospitality managers. Using tried-and-tested real-life scenarios, this book thoroughly prepares hospitality students for a career in the field.

This fifth edition of the best-selling textbook Food and Beverage Management for the hospitality, tourism & event industries has been updated and revised to take account of current trends within education and the hospitality, tourism and leisure industries. In particular the consideration of the foods service cycle and includes greater account being taken of the management of foodservice operations within a broader business framework.

Written for SIT50416 Diploma of Hospitality Management, Hospitality Management, 4e covers all 13 core units plus seven electives. Each chapter is written to a unit of competency and maintains the volume of learning of previous editions, with relevant and easy to understand information including Australian examples and references. Structured in three parts, the text covers the knowledge and skills required of frontline supervisors, managerial topics, and business strategy content.

This book takes a 'process' approach and provides the reader with an essential understanding of the purpose, policies and processes concerned with managing an enterprise's workforce within the current business and social environment.

This book offers students a uniquely concise, accessible and comprehensive introduction to hotel accommodation management that covers the range of managerial subjects and disciplines in the sector. The book focuses on enduring aspects of the accommodation management function; the changing context of hotel accommodation provision; and the role of accommodation in additional and integrated facilities and markets.

The first edition of Tourism and Hospitality Law in Australia is a well thought out and easy to understand guide to the major laws applicable to the tourism and hospitality industry. This book features well-structured and titled chapter headings that make it readily accessible in navigating and finding legal issues that are relevant to the tourism and hospitality industry.

A broad, all encompassing look at the chef as a manager, examining the roles of leadership, management, training, and supervision. The World of Culinary Management: Leadership and Development of Human Resources, 6/e, one of the only texts designed for human resource management from a culinary perspective

Delicious focuses on the visual identity of the sweetest places in the world: chocolate boutiques, bakeries and confectionaries, and coffee shops.  Even though it would seem easy for these kinds of businesses to establish a connection with customers, the fiercely growing competition in this field makes it essential for shop owners and designers to shape a unique and unforgettable impression so as to create fidelity and brand awareness.

The marketing landscape has changed dramatically in recent years, especially for tourism and hospitality practitioners. Marketing for these industries is now a multi-dimensional, collaborative venture driven by technological change and the growing demand for authentic co-created experiences.

Social media marketing is often seen as one of the most important tools for restaurants to market their businesses. This book is written for restaurant owners and managers, but many of the concepts included in it pertain to any brick and mortar business. With this book, you'll learn how to effectively use social media to grow and improve the customer base of your restaurant.

A practical and affordable guide for restaurants, hotels, resorts, clubhouses, bed and breakfasts, tour operators, and food services on how to deliver a more environmentally friendly service.

Over the past few years the hospitality industry has become a lot more sustainable than it used to be. However, the industry's contribution to the sustainable development of our societies is still significantly smaller than it could be. This book specifically addresses the links between operations, tactics and strategy from a sustainable development perspective and moves beyond describing.....

This book includes case studies and addresses sustainability issues for hotels, restaurants, tourism, travel, meetings, and others, with authors from all five continents.

Experiences are an important part of our lives and increasingly represent a crucial topic to address for businesses and professionals. This book focuses on designing, staging and managing experiences within the context of the events, tourism and hospitality industries.

This is an A-Z guide to workplace safety that is 100% compliant with Australia’s health and safety laws. It’s full of practical advice, handy tips and solutions for all your workplace safety issues, and is designed specifically to help you understand and meet all your health and safety duties. Plus, it contains information on the relevant legislation for every jurisdiction in Australia

This reference is a detailed guide to the world of food additives commonly used in the food processing and manufacturing industry. This book is a valuable reference.