Graphics, Print & Signage

Many of us think of creativity as something distant and incompatible with daily life--a skill that artists get to use, but not the rest of us. Maybe you feel like a land-locked surfer, yearning for exhilarating rides. Or maybe you live for the few hours a week when you can take photographs, paint, or write. It's time for a new mindset. Create shows you how to rediscover the artist within you.

In daylong hackathons, design thinking seems deceptively easy. On the surface, it involves a set of seemingly simple activities such as gathering data, identifying insights, generating ideas, prototyping, and experimentation. But practiced at a superficial level, even great design tools don’t go deep enough to create the shifts in mindset and skillset that are required to achieve transformational impact.

An understanding of psychology--specifically the psychology behind how users behave and interact with digital interfaces--is perhaps the single most valuable nondesign skill a designer can have. The most elegant design can fail if it forces users to conform to the design rather than working within the "blueprint" of how humans perceive and process the world around them. This practical guide explains how you can apply key principles in psychology to build products and experiences that are more intuitive and human-centered.

This book will have a lasting influence on the future quality of public open spaces. By helping us better understand the larger public life of cities, Life between Buildings can only move us toward more lively and healthy public places.

Unlock your creativity. An inspiring guide to creativity in the digital age, Steal Like an Artist presents ten transformative principles that will help readers discover their artistic side and build a more creative life.   Nothing is original, so embrace influence, school yourself through the work of others, remix and reimagine to discover your own path. Follow interests wherever they take you--what feels like a hobby may turn into you life's work.;

This book democratizes web development for everyone. It's a fun, clever guide that covers all of the key design principles, best practices, useful shortcuts, pro tips, real-world examples, and basic coding tutorials needed to produce a beautiful website that you'll feel confident sharing with the world. Because you, too, can design for the web! Hello Web Design contains everything you need to feel comfortable doing your own web development, including an abundance of real-life website examples that will inspire and motivate you. No need to spend time and money hiring an expensive graphic designer; this book will walk you through the fundamentals - and shortcuts - you need to do it all yourself, right now.

Composition for the 21st ½ century: Image-Making for Animation focuses on composition and its technical and artistic application in animation, illustration, games, and films. It covers all aspects of design and discusses in detail their artistic applicability and impact on image and narrative. Emphasis is placed on the ability of each aspect to support and affect the narrative. Additional case studies explain the successful use of these concepts in films and animation.

Composition for the 21st ½ century: Characters in Animation focuses on characters and their application in animation, illustration, games, and films. It covers various technical aspects of character design and their artistic applicability. This book analyzes in detail the purpose of these character design features and provides examples of their impact. Emphasis is placed on each aspect and how it affects and is affected by the narrative. Additionally, complex case studies that assist in explaining the successful use of these concepts in films and animation are included.

From your first day learning the basic terms of design, through to bringing together your final portfolio, Introduction to Graphic Design 2nd edition is the perfect companion for your learning journey.Written by experienced educator and designer Aaris Sherin, this popular textbook is designed for visual learners and explains all the key topics introductory graphic design classes will contain. Concepts covered include layout, narrative, semiotics, colour, typography, production and context, and examples range from packaging design and advertising, through to apps and motion graphics. - Boxes of "Do's and Don'ts", tips and discussion points- Practical exercises throughout the book - Design In Action case studies- Broad variety of inspirational work from international designers- Includes advice on design development, research, presenting and critiquing workThis new edition brings together an even more diverse range of featured designers, more coverage of cultural differences and sensitivity considerations, more digital-first design and more critical analysis of trends in graphic design.

SEO for Screen Printers: Become the Top-Ranked Shop in Your Area" is a groundbreaking guide that condenses two decades of expertise from an industry-leading digital marketing expert. With a laser focus on empowering screen printers, this book unveils the secrets to mastering Search Engine Optimization (SEO) and establishing a dominant online presence. In a digital landscape where visibility is paramount, this book acts as your compass, navigating 'through the intricacies of SEO with actionable insights, practical tips, and real-world examples. It's more than just a guide; it's your trusted companion on the journey to SEO success. "SEO for Screen Printers" encourages screen printing and apparel businesses to harness the power of SEO, guiding them to new horizons. Armed with insights from the comprehensive guide, readers can confidently implement SEO strategies, from keyword optimization to on-page excellence. This book embodies a commitment to continuous learning and business growth through SEO, making it an indispensable resource for anyone looking to thrive in the competitive world of screen printing.

Letterpress Printing: Past, Present, Futurebrings together scholars, curators, collectors and printers to assess the current state of letterpress printing. It acknowledges the decline of letterpress as a commercial printing technique and considers the risks this poses for letterpress's future. However, in describing the many uses to which letterpress is put and the diverse communities of printers who still work with it, the book celebrates the tenacity of letterpress as a process which continues to thrive despite such challenges. Letterpress Printing examines the continuing life of letterpress and applauds its revival through describing the circumstances in which it flourishes and the many ways it is now used. By setting this revival in the context of its ostensible decline, the book sets out the ways in which current practice draws upon and preserves the history of printing while taking it in new and unexpected directions.

Layout multipage documents faster for print and digital output in this part-color guide, with consistent control over typography, color and positioning, all whilst using the latest Adobe InDesign 2023 features to automate repetitive and complex tasks Key Features Create engaging design solutions for print and digital media such as posters, magazines, books, and brochures Master the powerful tools InDesign offers to simplify complex tasks and avoid potentially disastrous mistakes Discover InDesign best practices to increase productivity and speed up the design process with this illustrated guide Book Description Adobe InDesign is the leading desktop publishing and layout software for producing brochures, magazines, flyers, books, posters, and a wide range of digital documents. It allows you to rapidly draft your documents with precise control over typography, images, positioning, alignment, color, and other interactive features. However, InDesign's interface, tools, and workflows can be a bit challenging to get to grips with. This cookbook will assist you in building unparalleled InDesign workflows with tried and tested recipes.With Designing the Adobe InDesign Way, you'll learn how to add and edit content, create color swatches, and use features such as tables, all while applying software best practices and techniques to ensure that your work is fast, efficient, and easily maintained. Additionally, you'll explore advanced InDesign features such as text styles, parent pages, tables of contents, and pre-flighting. Finally, you'll take a closer look at the many export options in InDesign and ways to truly maximize its capabilities.By the end of this book, you'll be well equipped to draft and design your own projects while ensuring your work is compatible with industry standards for print and digital documents. What you will learn Navigate and customize the InDesign interface Understand how to set up new documents for different types of content Explore how to add and adjust content within your documents Discover a range of tools to speed up your workflow and make you more efficient Check your documents for errors and make the required corrections Share your document output in different formats based on specific requirements Who this book is for This book is for marketing and communications professionals, marketing executives, marketing managers, marketing assistants, communications officers, communications managers, graphic designers, publishers, bids and tender teams, PR professionals, and brand managers looking to gain a deep understanding of InDesign. Anyone seeking to learn InDesign to create more professional content and advance their skills will find the book useful. ]]>

When we encounter typography, how do we know what it means? How is the tone of type influenced by the way it is set, when it is made, and where it exists? Considering the social, spatial, and temporal contexts of visual language, this text informs and inspires students, educators, and professionals looking to engage more deeply with the letterforms they use and see. Featuring diverse typographic works, "closer looks", and interviews with practicing artists and designers, Giving Type Meaning serves to inform how and why we understand what type communicates. The book includes: - The importance and impact of cultural and social context across the expanded field of art and design - How to use visual, physical, and gestural space to inform meaning - The ways time impacts type, such as historical references, recontextualizations, and the use of time as medium - A range of global examples, including Lushootseed language letterforms (Lushootseed Sulad by Juliet Shen), Arabic calligraphy and type design (Regard Each Other as Brothers by Josh Berer, Mirsaal by Rana Abou Rjeily), American civil rights inspired type (Martin by Tré Seals), Italian concrete poetry (Storia Del Monumento by Mirella Bentivoglio), and animated Chinese characters (Motion Type Project by Ting-An Ho)

The essential and bestselling guide to typography from beloved design educator Ellen Lupton--revised and expanded to include new and additional voices, examples, and principles, and a wider array of typefaces. "Thinking with Type is to typography what Stephen Hawking's A Brief History of Time is to physics."--I Love Typography   The bestselling Thinking with Type in a revised and expanded third edition: This is the definitive guide to using typography in visual communication. Covering the essentials of typography, this book explores everything from typefaces and type families to kerning and tracking to grids and layout principles. Ellen Lupton provides clear and focused guidance on how letters, words, and paragraphs should be aligned, spaced, ordered, and shaped. Historical and contemporary examples of graphic design show how to learn the rules and how to break them. Critical essays, eye-opening diagrams, helpful exercises, and dozens of examples and illustrations show readers how to be inventive within systems that inform and communicate. Featuring 32 pages of new content, the third edition is revised and refined from cover to cover: More fonts: old fonts, new fonts, weird fonts, libre fonts, Google fonts, Adobe fonts, fonts from independent foundries, and fonts and lettering by women and BIPOC designers Introductions to diverse writing systems, contributed by expert typographers from around the world Demonstrations of basic design principles, such as vi­sual balance, Gestalt grouping, and responsive layout Current approaches to typeface design, including Variable fonts and optical sizes Tips for readability, legibility, and accessibility Stunning reproductions from the Letterform Archive Thinking with Type is the typography book for everyone: designers, writers, editors, students, anyone who works with words on page or screen, and enthusiasts of type and lettering. Readers will also love Ellen Lupton's book Extra Bold: A Feminist, Inclusive, Anti-racist, Nonbinary Field Guide for Graphic Designers.