Graphics, Print & Signage

NEW

The Type Trends Look Book 2021 is not only a detailed and useful explanation of the main tendencies in typography but also a collection of examples to inspire the readers, showing type at work in bridging cultural values and commercial effectiveness. Divided into four purposeful sections, our Type Trends Look Book is here to help designers choose the fonts they need for their artwork.

The Designer's Dictionary of Type follows in the footsteps of The Designer's Dictionary of Color, providing a vivid and highly accessible look at an even more important graphic design ingredient: typography. From classic fonts like Garamond and Helvetica, to modern-day digital fonts like OCR-A and Keedy Sans, author and designer Sean Adams demystifies 48 major typefaces, describing their history, stylistic traits, and common application. Adams once again provides eye-catching illustrated examples, this time showcasing the beauty and expressiveness of typography, as employed by the world's greatest designers. Organized by serif, sans-serif, script, display, and digital typefaces, this book will be a vital guide for designers, teachers, or students looking to gain a foundational understanding of the art, practice, and history of typography.  

The use of italic letters to accentuate has become common practice in the computer age. They convey movement and dynamics, addresses the emotional experience of reading and reminds of handwriting. This lively characteristic, which once resulted from the movement of the hand, is visibly lost when words are simply tilted by a mouse click.In order to impart basic knowledge about italics, the author has gathered design patterns of italic scripts and presents the tangible form, characteristics and functions of "italic nature". In addition, he deals intensively with the historical development of italics. This monograph is the first detailed treatise on this typographical topic, and is aimed in particular at all those who deal with letters professionally or privately.

Praise for the Too Fast To Live Too Young To Die exhibition: "A fascinating look at how punk and new wave music met the eye" New York Times "An absolute joy" Financial Times The largest unique collection of printed memorabilia from the punk and post-punk movements. Andrew Krivine began collecting punk memorabilia in 1977 when punk exploded onto the scene. Since then, Andrew has amassed one of the world s largest collection of punk graphic design and memorabilia. This book features a carefully curated selection of over 650 posters, club flyers, record covers and adverts from the collection. Together they represent the prime years of punk which changed the world of graphic design forever with its do-it-yourself aesthetics. The artworks are put into context by graphic design experts, academics and commentators.

Typography Now will guide its readers to understand, create, and use Latin, Chinese and Japanese typefaces in the increasingly interrelated world. The fundamentals will provide readers knowledge to understand and identify different types. For getting reader acquainted with making types, the book has topnotch and esteemed type foundries introduce their design process and techniques.

A unique and engaging tool for learning about design using anthropomorphized Western fonts! When the designer in a small production company disappears, Marusu is forced to take over the job of creating logos. Unfortunately, Marusu is a sales rep who doesn't know the first thing about fonts. Luckily, Helvetica, the personification of that font, appears to guide Marusu into the world of typeface and design.

Visual messages are omnipresent in our daily life. They are constantly attempting to persuade us to buy, learn and act. Some are more successful than others in influencing our behavior and choices. What is the secret power of these messages? How do they succeed in changing our behavior? This book analyzes advertising beyond the persuasive power of the imagery itself. It explains the psychology behind 33 effective influence techniques in visual persuasion and how to apply them. The techniques range from influencing essentials to more obscure and insidious ones. The reader will gain deep insights into how visual means are constructed to influence behavior and decisionmaking on an unconscious level. All techniques are supported by rich visual references and additional information on the psychology of behavior change. This publication is not just an eye-opener for professionals and students in the communications and design field, but also for anybody who wants to understand how our behavior is influenced unconsciously by advertising, social campaigns and governmental messages. The book is co-authored by leading figures in social infl uence and visual persuasion. It is designed as an accessible modern reference book for creating and understanding persuasive visual imagery. It will open your eyes, we promise!