Automotive - Heavy

The aim of this book with its detailed step-by-step colour photographs and diagrams, is to enable every owner to fix their diesel engine with ease. Troubleshooting tables help diagnose potential problems, and there is advice on regular maintenance and winterising and repair. Jean-Luc Pallas's enthusiasm for passing on his knowledge, as well as his clear explanations, precise advice and step-by-step instructions make this a unique book.

The book focuses on the exhaust system and the technologies and methods used to reduce emissions and increase fuel economy by capitalising on the exhaust gas energy availability (either in the form of gas kinetic energy or as waste heat extracted from the exhaust gas). It is projected that in the short to medium term, advances in exhaust emissions and energy recovery technologies will lead the way in internal combustion engine development and pave the way towards increasing levels of engine hybridisation until fully electric vehicle technology can claim a level of maturity and corresponding market shares to turn the bulk of this focus away from the internal combustion engine.

The aim of this work, consisting of 9 individual, self-contained booklets, is to describe commercial vehicle technology in a way that is clear, concise and illustrative. Compact and easy to understand, it provides an overview of the technology that goes into modern commercial vehicles.

Electrical Systems and Mechatronics, offers an introduction to the mechatronics in a commercial vehicle. The electrical and electronic systems are presented, up to and including the advanced driver assistance systems. The compressed air system and the commercial vehicle brake are explained to give the reader a comprehensive overview, such as is helpful for understanding in training and in practice.

The why, what and how of the electric vehicle powertrain Empowers engineering professionals and students with the knowledge and skills required to engineer electric vehicle powertrain architectures, energy storage systems, power electronics converters and electric drives. The modern electric powertrain is relatively new for the automotive industry, and engineers are challenged with designing affordable, efficient and high-performance electric powertrains as the industry undergoes a technological evolution.

Fundamentals of Mobile Heavy Equipment provides students with a thorough introduction to the diagnosis, repair, and maintenance of off-road mobile heavy equipment. With comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of the latest technology in the field, it addresses the equipment used in construction, agricultural, forestry, and mining industries.

The automotive industry is one of the sectors most profoundly changed by digitalization and the 21st century energy needs. You'll explore the shifting paradigms and how cars today represent a new interpretation of what driving should be and what cars should offer. This book presents exciting case studies on how artificial intelligence (AI) and data analytics are used to design future cars, predict car efficiency, ensure safety and simulate engineering dynamics for its design, as well as a new arena for IoT and human data. It opens a window into the origins of cars becoming software-run machines, first to run internal diagnostics, and then to become machines connected to other external machines via Bluetooth, to finally the Internet via 5G.

Heavy-Duty Electric Vehicles: From Concept to Reality presents a step-by-step design and development guide for heavy-duty electric vehicles. It also offers practical insights based on the commercial application of an electric city bus. Heavy-duty electric vehicle design is challenging due to a lack of clear understanding of the government policies, R&D directions and uncertainty around the performance of various subsystems in an electric powertrain.

Focuses on off-highway mobile equipment systems, giving you in-depth coverage of service and repair essentials for heavy equipment, agricultural equipment, and powered lift truck technology. Written by experienced technicians, this trusted text includes both universal and manufacturer-specific information on everything from hydraulics, heavy-duty brakes, drivetrains, steering, suspension, and track systems, to safety and best practices.

The transport industry has an important role to play in addressing climate change and the environmental challenges facing governments, businesses and individuals. Achieving net zero emissions by 2050 will require this sector, which is a large contributor of emissions, to innovate, adapt and drive positive change. New technologies including batteries and alternative fuels will all be significant, as will developing different approaches and outlooks. The Road to Zero Emissions is the comprehensive guide for those in the transport industry to understanding what can and is being done to tackle climate change.

Vehicle Dynamics and Control: Advanced Methodologies features the latest information on advanced dynamics and vehicle motion control, including a comprehensive overview of passenger cars and articulated vehicles, fundamentals, and emerging developments. This book provides a unified, balanced treatment of advanced approaches to vehicle dynamics and control.

The aim of this work, consisting of 9 individual, self-contained booklets, is to describe commercial vehicle technology in a way that is clear, concise and illustrative. Compact and easy to understand, it provides an overview of the technology that goes into modern commercial vehicles. Starting from the customer's fundamental requirements, the characteristics and systems that define the design of the vehicles are presented knowledgeably in a series of articles, each of which can be read and studied on their own.  This volume, Chassis and Axles, explains the support structure of the vehicle, the chassis, and its attachments. The suspension and the steering are explained as well as the axles and tires. The reader thus gains a basic understanding of the rolling understructure of the commercial vehicle. 

This book provides knowledge to professionals on how to model, calculate, and design machinery for construction operations. Carrying out construction works is unthinkable without construction machines.  Awareness of role and properties of construction machines is very important for their design, production, application, and maintenance. This book defines the basic characteristics of the main representatives of construction machines for earthworks, bulldozers, loaders, excavators, vibratory rollers, and transport vehicles, truck cranes, telehandlers, and construction trucks. The book presents a step-by-step explanation of the key technical solutions of mobile construction machines in an expert and illustrative manner, with the help of photographic images, schematics, and case studies. The book will be of use to professionals in industry and students in engineering departments.