Based on the 2014 National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation (NATEF) Medium/Heavy Truck Tasks Lists and ASE Certification Test Series for truck and bus specialists, Fundamentals of Medium/Heavy Duty Commercial Vehicle Systems is designed to address these and other international training standards. The text offers comprehensive coverage of every NATEF task with clarity and precision in a concise format that ensures student comprehension and encourages critical thinking.Fundamentals of Medium/Heavy Duty Commercial Vehicle Systems describes safe and effective diagnostic, repair, and maintenance procedures for today's medium and heavy vehicle chassis systems, including the most current, relevant, and practical coverage of: * Automated transmissions * Braking system technology used in vehicle stability, collision avoidance, and new stopping distance standards* Hybrid drive powertrains * Advanced battery technologies * On board vehicle networks and integrated chassis electrical control system * Automatic transmission drive shafts and drive axles* Charging, starting, vehicle instrumentation and chassis electrical systems * On-board diagnostic systems, electronic signal processing, and sensor operation * Steering, suspension, frames, hitching, and air conditioning systems * Environmental and fuel efficiency technologiesAdditional features include:* Up-to-date NATEF coverage* Support of ASE certification test preparation for medium-heavy truck and bus test series * A clear, accessible writing style* Reinforcement of concepts learned* Application to real-world practice* A wealth of photographs, illustrations, and step-by-step explanations with visual summaries
This Student Workbook contains exercises to reinforce what you will learn in both Fundamentals of Medium/Heavy Duty Commercial Vehicle Systems and the classroom. The Student Workbook is designed to encourage critical thinking and aid comprehension through a variety of exercises in each chapter, including:ASE-Type Questions - Test your critical thinking skills and prepare for certification exams.Skill Drill Activities - Test your skills with photo jumbles and caption fill-ins. Place photos in the correct order to test your knowledge of a skill and fill-in the captions to ensure that you know all the details of each step.Labeling - Master visual recognition with labeling activities that test your knowledge of automotive tools, parts, and systems.And More- Matching, multiple choice, true/false, fill-in-the-blank, and crossword puzzles.
With an Australian context, practical reference for instructors & students to utilise throughout course & career. Covers: Certificate III Automotive Technology, Certificate IV Automotive Technology, Diploma of Automotive Technology, Certificate III Marine, Certificate III Outdoor Power Equipment
This trusted guide helps aspiring technicians develop the knowledge and skills they need to service modern, computer-controlled diesel engines. The book provides an overview of essential topics such as shop safety, tools and equipment, engine construction and operation, major engine systems, and general service and repair concepts. Dedicated chapters then explore engine, fuel, and vehicle computer control subsystems, as well as diesel emissions. Thoroughly revised to reflect the latest technology, trends, and techniques--including current ASE Education Foundation standards--the Second Edition provides an accurate, up-to-date introduction to modern diesel engines and a solid foundation for professional success.
Detailing the foundations of truck heating, air conditioning, engine cooling, and truck-trailer refrigeration, the book integrates modern technical terms with photos that clearly demonstrate typical, on-the-job tasks in logical sequence. Coverage includes an entire section on thermodynamics, as well as solid instruction on safety, equipment, components, troubleshooting, performance testing, maintenance, and even the history of HVAC/R in the diesel trucking industry. Enhanced with photos, drawings, and self-testing questions in each chapter, MODERN DIESEL TECHNOLOGY: HEATING, VENTILATION, AIR CONDITIONING, AND REFRIGERATION, 2nd Edition delivers the technical accuracy and depth of HVAC/R information you need for a rewarding career as a diesel technician.