LibGuides: Fashion: History

History

Costume and Fashion: A Complete History
Call Number: GT525 .C67 2003 Mt Gravatt
ISBN: 9780600609032
Publication Date: 2003
This is an illustrated guide to the history of clothing and fashion for both male and female. Periods covered include Ancient Egypt, Greece and Rome, the Middle Ages, the Renaissance, as well as the 17th to the 20th century.
Vintage fashion complete by Nicky Albrechtsen
Call Number: TT504 .A42 2014
ISBN: 9780500517611
Publication Date: 2014
This is not just another history of fashion, but a survey of how fashion past continues to inspire fashion present. It presents over 1,000 stand out examples, together with over 300 contextual illustrations, dating from the 1920s to the 1980s, including many icons of vintage fashion, from Marylin Monroe's bra to the Ossie Clark dress made so famous by David Hockney's painting.
A Queer History of Fashion by Valerie Steele; Hal Rubinstein, & others
Call Number: GT525 .Q63 2013
ISBN: 9780300196702
Publication Date: 2013
An unprecedented in depth exploration of the complex interrelationship between high fashion and queer history and culture. From Christian Dior to Yves Saint Laurent and Alexander McQueen, many of the greatest fashion designers of the past century have been gay. Fashion and style have played an important role within the LGBTQ community, as well, even as early as the 18th century.
Vintage Details by Jeffrey Mayer, Basia Szkutnicka
Call Number: TT507 .M39 2016
ISBN: 9781780677422
Publication Date: 2016
Vintage Details is a stunning collection of over 550 beautifully photographed details from previously unseen 20th-century vintage clothing. The images are arranged by detail: necklines, collars, sleeves, cuffs, pockets, hems, darts and fitting devices, stitching, fastenings and buttonholes, pleats, frills and flounces, embellishment, texture, and print. Inner construction shots will also be included, along with images of the full garments providing context for the details shown.
The Dynamics of Fashion by Elaine Stone; Sheryl A. Farnan
Call Number: TT496.U6 S86 2018
ISBN: 9781501324000
Publication Date: 2018
Featuring the latest facts, figures, and theories in fashion development, production, and merchandising, as well as a brand new chapter on the history of fashion, this book provides a broad foundation for students hoping to become a part of the industry.
The golden thread: How fabric changed history by Kassia St. Clair
Call Number: TS1315 .S82 2019
ISBN: 9781473659056
Publication Date: 2019
Fabric has allowed us to achieve extraordinary things and survive in unlikely places, and this book shows you how -- and why. With a cast that includes Chinese empresses, Richard the Lionheart and Bing Crosby, the author takes us on the run with escaped slaves, climbing the slopes of Everest and moonwalking with astronauts.

Authentic Victorian Fashion Patterns by Kristina Harris
ISBN: 9780486132822
Publication Date: 2012
Imported custom made clothes were usually beyond the financial reach of the average middle class American woman of a century ago; and store bought garments were often of inferior quality. This left many women with the options of making their own clothes or hiring a seamstress.
The Complete Costume Dictionary by Elizabeth J. Lewandowski
ISBN: 9780810877856
Publication Date: 2011
While there are costume and fashion dictionaries tied to specific countries or periods, none have been comprehensive. In The Complete Costume Dictionary, Elizabeth Lewandowski has collected from a variety of sources including costume history texts, journal articles, historical publications, autobiographies, biographies, foreign language dictionaries, and contemporary publications to create a resource that spans the globe, from the earliest record of fashion to the 21st century.
Making Victorian Costumes for Women by Heather Audin
ISBN: 9781785000522
Publication Date: 2015
Starting with the early years of Victoria's reign, this practical book examines the developments and evolution of fashionable dress as it progressed throughout her six decades as queen. From the demure styles of the 1840s to the exaggerated sleeves of the 1890s, it explores the ever-changing Victorian silhouette, and gives patterns, instructions and advice so that the amateur dressmaker can create their own versions of these historic outfits
Pattern Cutting for Men's Costume by Elizabeth Friendship
ISBN: 9781408149324
Publication Date: 2014
Pattern Cutting for Men's Costume is a practicalguide featuring patterns for the most important garments worn by menbetween the 16th and 19th centuries. Easy to follow instructions explain how to cut patterns for 'average' and individual measurements with expert advice on how to adapt patterns to fit men of all shapesand sizes.
Fashion History by Linda Welters; Abby Lillethun; Joanne B. Eicher (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781474253635
Publication Date: 2018
This book explores the geographic places and historical spaces of fashion. The authors explore key issues affecting fashion systems.
The History of Modern Fashion by Daniel James Cole; Nancy Deihl
ISBN: 9781780676036
Publication Date: 2015
This lavishly illustrated book looks at the history of fashion from 1850 to 2010. Taking a decade by decade approach, Daniel James Cole and Nancy Deihl explore the history of fashion as a lively and dynamic manifestation of twentieth century culture.
Fashion by Christopher Breward
ISBN: 9780192840301.
Publication Date: 2003
This lively survey of 150 years of fashion covers everything from Haute Couture to the High Street, and developing fabric technology from silk to fleece. From Coco Chanel to Armani and Alexander McQueen, Breward explores fashion as a cultural phenomenon.
The Anti-Capitalist Book of Fashion by Tansy E. Hoskins
ISBN: 9780745346618
Publication Date: 2022
*Selected by Emma Watson for her Ultimate Book List* Fashion is political. From the red carpets of the Met Gala to online fast fashion, clothes tell a story of inequality, racism and climate crisis. In The Anti-Capitalist Book of Fashion, Tansy E. Hoskins unpicks the threads of capitalist industry to reveal the truth about our clothes.

The Fashion Archive
This is a collection of fashion related content from The British Pathe Film Archive. Fashion designers, haute couture shows, fashion industry footage and news reels. Vintage designs from Nina Ricci, Chanel, Yves Saint Laurent. Celebrity guests including Liz Taylor and The Queen. Innovative sunglasses, bikinis and dresses. Footage of the infamous Paco Rabanne metallic dresses. Mansion house fashion shows. Models dancing down the catwalk instead of walking, as well as theatrical performances. Synchronized fashion shows.