Beauty

The toolbox is an initiative of the South East Queensland (SEQ) Councils CEOs Forum to support the delivery of quality services to local communities. This website can be used as a tool for you to understand local council requirements when running your own business and Council's planning scheme to comply with the Public Health (Infection Control for Personal Appearance Services Act 2003, Queensland Development Code, part MP 5.2 - Higher risk personal appearance services and Infection Control Guidelines for Personal Appearance Services. Select your council to obtain specific information around licensing, planning and building requirements.

The Public Health (Infection Control for Personal Appearance Services) Act 2003 and the Infection Control Guidelines for Personal Appearance Services apply to hairdressers, nail salons and beauty therapists to help minimise the risk of infection.

This Voluntary Industry Code of Practice to Support the Australian Ban on Testing Cosmetics on Animals aims to guide consistency and provide clarity regarding not tested on animals terms and advertising claims used by the Cosmetics Industry. Look for the link on this website to the pdf document.

The A to Z of Skin information has been developed by the Australasian College of Dermatologists to help you understand more about common skin conditions and problems, and how these may be treated.

Research-based skincare and professional makeup reviews and expert advice.
Created by Paula Begoun, author of 'Don’t go to the cosmetics counter without me'.

Here is a list of cosmetic ingredients and their purpose.

Look up an ingredient find it's rating and it's purpose.

There are many links on this page but be warned it was last updated in 2010.

This website provides a list of different nail art techniques.

Instructions and colour photographs detailing how to copy nail art designs shown here.

Makeup tutorials and beauty articles by L'Oreal

Allure magazine has provided free access to makeup ideas with many coloured photographs.

The website boasts that here you can get the latest makeup tutorials and tips including the best products and trends for this season.

Meet makeup artists and discover their tips as well as view makeup tutorials.

Information and data on the beauty sector by the Australian Industry Skills Committee.

This ingredient glossary is designed to help you learn more about common ingredients in the cosmetic industry. Note that the author has business relationships with Advanced Dermatology, Carrot & Stick and Formulyst if looking at product reviews and ranking.

Under the Public Health (Infection Control for Personal Appearance Services) Act 2003,
Infection Control Guidelines are provided for personal appearance services to help minimise
the risk of infection. These guidelines provide information on how to protect operators and
clients, and are based on current infection control practice. It includes guidelines for skin penetration procedures.

Under the Resources tab there are links to Safe Work Australia, Fair Work Ombudsman and Health information. The HBIA provides support to businesses in the hair and beauty industry.

The Australian Taxation Office provides performance benchmarks for beauty services

The Australian Government provides advice on beauty therapy job opportunities and pathways.

The Australian Competition & Consumer Commission provides mandatory requirements on labelling cosmetic products.

he Australian Government's Fair Work Ombudsman provides advice to help you comply with Australia's national workplace laws and the specific requirements of the Hair and Beauty Industry Award 2010

The Australian Government provides guides for legal Work health and safety requirements.

Information supplied by the Queensland Government on various beauty therapy practices.

Information about lasers and IPL supplied by the Australian Radiation Protection & Nuclear Safety Agency

APAN in Australia represents and pursues the interests of practitioners in aesthetics, dermal therapies, cosmetic nursing and cosmetic tattooist.