Building Design

This comprehensive text provides a thorough overview of sustainable methods for site, residential and commercial building construction, covering both traditional and contemporary materials, current industry standards and new and emerging technologies. Organized according to the Construction Specifications Institute (CSI) MasterFormat standards, the text follows a logical structure that charts the sequence of construction step-by-step from project inception to completion. Readers will find ample, up-to-date information on the latest industry advances and best practices, as well as relevant building codes, all within a dynamic, reader-friendly new design. This proven text can help your students gain a clear understanding of today's construction materials, methods and techniques, providing a critical foundation for career success.

This book is the result of recent research that deals with the built environment and innovative materials, carried out by specialists working in universities and centers of research in different professional fields architecture, engineering, physics and in an area that that spans from the Mediterranean Sea to the Persian Gulf, and from South Eastern Europe to the Middle East. This book takes the necessity of reshaping the concept of building design in order to transform buildings from large scale energy consumers to energy savers and producers into consideration. The book is organized in two parts: theory and case studies.

This book begins with an introduction describing current societal transformations that merit new urban designs, including depletion of non-renewable natural resources, elevated levels of greenhouse gas emissions, large numbers of aging "Baby Boomers," and climate change. Dr. Friedman then examines these challenges through thirty chapters of interest to urban designers, architects, civil and construction engineers, and town planners. Each of these topics represents an aspect of urban design and describes an innovative solution and offers a detailed description of underlying principles. The highly illustrated text presents innovative urban design strategies based on sustainable principles. Integrated with each chapter are several international case studies illustrating design implementations.

For too long we've designed buildings that haven't focused on the people inside--their health, their ability to work effectively, and what that means for the bottom line.
An authoritative introduction to a movement whose vital importance is now all too clear, Healthy Buildings breaks down the science and makes a compelling business case for creating healthier offices, schools, and homes.

. This volume has been a classic introduction to the subject for almost thirty years. The new, fourth edition is brought up to date with a chapter on transnational design, encompassing mid-century modernist work in Singapore and Sri Lanka as well as very recent interiors for spaces as varied as luxury hotels in Dubai and a contemporary art museum in Cape Town. Anne Massey shows how a shared language of design and cutting-edge technology are reshaping interiors around the globe.

The construction industry contributes to growth and economic development in countries around the world, but it can also be wasteful and environmentally damaging. Traditionally, the success of construction projects is measured in term of time, cost, and quality; however, due to changing clients' demands and expectations and complexity of projects, project goals are no longer limited to the conventional three indicators. The introduction of sustainability principle in every sector of the economy, especially through the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (UNSDGs), has also affected the measures of project success.

Introduces ethical dilemmas aspiring construction professionals will face on the job--and the critical thinking skills to reason their way out of them * Completely revised and updated to reflect changes in construction technology, workforce composition, and working environments.

Discover a practical guide to residential space planning, in this room-by-room guide with up-to-date info on accessibility, ergonomics, and building systems In the newly revised Fourth Edition of Residential Interior Design: A Guide to Planning Spaces, an accomplished team of design professionals delivers the gold standard in practical, human-centered residential interior design.

Earthquake ground motions are at the interface of two disciplines - seismologists predict them, and engineers use them. Oftentimes, engineers do not understand the limitations of ground motion prediction, and seismologists do not understand the effect of ground motions on structures. As a result, there is significant confusion regarding ground motions for design.
Site-Specific Ground Motions for Seismic Design of Buildings and Other Structuresprovides a step-by-step approach to properly conduct site-specific Ground Motion Hazard Analysis (GMHA) and Site Response Analysis (SRA).

How is technology shaping our built environment and changing the practice of architecture? This book explores how buildings and spaces are designed, built, used, and better understood through technology. A practical guide to technical advances including Internet of Things (IoT), 3D printing, innovative materials and robotics,
Smart Buildings also outlines the opportunities for architecture including improved communication, flexibility, wellbeing, productivity and data collection. Bringing together multidisciplinary contributions and case studies from across the globe, this book provides an inspiring practical guide on how technology can inspire new architectural ideas, improving quality, comfort, health and wellbeing in the built environment

Sustainability and Health in Intelligent Buildings presents a comprehensive roadmap for designing and constructing high-performance clean energy-efficient buildings, including intelligence capabilities underpinned by smart power, 5G and Internet-of-Things technologies, environmental sensors, intelligent control strategies and cyber-physical security.

The rapid increase in urban population, land prices and land preservation, urban regeneration, as well as globalization and climate change have been forcing cities to build upward. High-rises can be part of a more sustainable solution if the construction and engineering challenges are addressed before construction starts. Smart technologies are being integrated in the digital environment to allow for better energy efficiency, safety and security, and to maximize the health and well-being of the occupants.

The central role of infrastructure to cities, and in particular their sustainability, is essential for proper planning and design since most energy and materials are themselves consumed by or through infrastructures. By providing a contemporary overview on infrastructure, cities, planning, economies, and sustainability, the book addresses how to plan, design, finance, and manage infrastructure in ways that reduce consumption and harmful impacts while maintaining and improving life quality.

Computer aided design (CAD) is the rendering of architectural drawings using the computer, which today plays a central role in almost all architectural firms. This volume explains the principles and fundamentals of CAD and provides the student with a simple and easily understandable path to using the computer as a tool and medium. Subjects: The architectural design in dialogue with the computer; An introduction to working with software and hardware; Practical, user-oriented explanations of CAD functions; Digital visualization; Interfaces and data processing.

This book provides invaluable guidance to all those with an interest in placemaking and the built environment, from those with no experience to those who have worked for many years in industry, illustrating key principles that will secure higher quality, more sustainable design in accessible, jargon-free language. The author explains the design process in a straightforward way, exploring the different roles and highlighting the opportunities and limitations different agencies have to influence design over the various stages of the process. Examples from the UK and worldwide look at how the system operates and how best practice can make a real difference on the ground. Case studies examine situations where quality or sustainability fell short - and how this could have been avoided. This book also showcases a variety of evaluation tools, explaining how they operate, and giving guidance on how to create project-specific tools to drive schemes forward. With community empowerment at its core, the book explains technical language and shares bountiful knowledge to broaden place democracy and make influencing design accessible to many, not just a few. This is a book that brings together all the various parties involved in shaping the built environment, demonstrating that collaboration and mutual understanding are key to achieving better quality, more sustainable design.

This edited book brings together insights from scholars and practitioners from many different fields to uncover the role of the construction and real estate sectors and how they align with the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). It follows a lifecycle-based approach to the topic, addressing the design, construction, management, investment, and regulatory dimensions of projects in the area. It expands the reader's understanding of the built environment beyond the design and construction phases, which enables the collection to explore the links and transitions between different project phases and uncover new methodologies that aim to tackle systemic sustainable development challenges. The chapters' comprehensive coverage allows the collection to capitalize on the strengths and weaknesses of the building industry, highlight emerging trends, and uncover some critical gaps that need to be addressed to attain the 2030 vision. This puts into perspective the interconnected nature of the SDGs and highlights the importance of multi-stakeholder collaborations in achieving them.

Structural Timber Design Timber construction has been one of the most innovative areas of the building industry for several years. The speed with which new products are introduced into practical application is almost breathtaking compared to the other construction materials in the building industry. As a result, timber construction is continuously increasing its market share in commercial buildings and hall structures, and even in multi-storey construction for residential and office buildings. This book provides essential knowledge and skills required for the design, detailing, and construction of timber structures. Special emphasis is placed on the specific features of timber and wood-based materials compared to other construction materials. This concerns the numerous advantages, as e.g. the comparatively low weight, the good workability of the high-performance material and the large variety of assembling technologies, but also the challenges resulting from the material anisotropy and from the susceptibility to natural pests. In each chapter the essential phenomena are explained first and then brought into connection with code regulations. This aims to support the basic understanding of the interrelations and dependencies in timber engineering, which is the fundamental basis of creative engineering.

A comprehensive narrative history of building and design styles in Australia, from traditional Aboriginal gunyahs; to the local interpretations of northern hemisphere trends; to the sustainable, climate sensitive and high-tech constructions of the 21st century.

The purpose of this book is to demonstrate how a Training-Within-Industry (TWI) Job-Program could reduce human factor-related harm in construction. The construction industry has a significant impact on issues relating to the health, safety, and well-being (HSW) of people in the workforce. It is important to acknowledge that workers' behaviour influences the safety management system (SMS) of construction projects either negatively or positively and that it is important for a management team to identify relevant behaviours and take appropriate action to solve problems. In most cases, accidents happen because of the results of human failure in the form of errors, violations and system failures. Human failure causes accidents and site management needs to reduce hazards that might cause such errors, violations and system failures on worksites. The chapters in the book address factors causing human failure on construction sites, how to mitigate errors and violations through SMS and 'learning by doing' and improving practice of using safety instructors on sites. The book closes with insights from a TWI-informed human failure reduction framework. This book provides valuable insights into safety management in a construction site context that can be applied to other areas. It is essential reading for safety managers, construction managers, researchers, and advanced students.

An updated edition of this classic title on the origins of 20th-century ideas in architecture and the applied arts. The turn of the nineteenth century saw an extraordinary flowering of invention in architecture and design, leading to the emergence of two contrasting styles: Art Nouveau and the International Style. Professor Nikolaus Pevsner brings clarity to this period of dynamic change by tracing the origins of twentieth-century ideas in architecture and the applied arts. Featuring a new foreword by the distinguished architectural historian Kenneth Frampton, this classic title has now been updated with colour illustrations throughout.

Artificial intelligence (AI) applications in architectural design have achieved a critical mass and exploded into the mainstream of architectural imaginations. From practical applications in design and constructionto the implications for architectural theory to a plethora of novel tools for accelerated morphological studies, what has become clear is that the discipline is passing a threshold that fundamentally changes architecture as a whole. However, the most radical change is the interrogation and novel discussion of authorship and agency in design ecologies driven by synthetic imaginations. What does it mean for authorship when more than 50 per cent of the content is generated by a nonhuman player? This issue seems more pressing than ever. In a world that is being transformed by AI on a daily basis, what is the role of the sole genius, and designers, artists and architects? This AD dives deep into current discussions about the human position in architectural design, which is increasingly entangled in an AI-driven design context. Contributors: Cesare Battelli, Phil Bernstein, Mario Carpo, Benjamin Ennemoser and Ingrid Mayrhofer-Hufnagl, Sarah Fox, Wanyu He, Andrew Kudless, Ryan Vincent Manning, Sandra Manninger, Kyle Steinfeld, Andrew Witt, and Michael Young.

Transform Your Home: A Guide to DIY Success Are you ready to turn your house into your dream home, all with your own hands? Dive into the world of home improvement with a guide that transforms ambition into reality. Discover the exhilaration of DIY! Whether you're a complete novice or have dabbled in home projects before, this book will be your trusty companion. Start with finding your motivation and assembling a toolkit that sets you up for success. We break down daunting tasks into simple, digestible steps that make each project not just achievable but enjoyable. Create a plan, stay safe, and watch your visions come to life. Navigate through crafting timelines, budgeting like a pro, and understanding the safety basics. Armed with these essentials, each chapter reveals new skills-be it painting stunning walls, perfecting carpentry, or mastering electrical upgrades. From fixing plumbing woes to transforming floors and refreshing unsightly fixtures, every room becomes a canvas for your creativity. Imagine the pride in your beautifully transformed spaces. Geniously crafted, this manual fills your home with personal flair. Learn how to upcycle and personalize, making each nook truly your own masterpiece. Think of your kitchen revitalized with updated cabinets or your outdoors reimagined with decks and low-maintenance gardens. Inspiration meets practicality with step-by-step guidance, engaging illustrations, and expert tips. It's time to roll up those sleeves and bring your home improvement dreams to fruition. Armed with this comprehensive guide, you are more than ready to tackle every challenge. Embrace the joy of DIY and transform every corner of your home with confidence and creativity. Your journey to DIY mastery starts here.

Covering all of the major techniques, this book uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad drawing and editing tools for this popular application. Use the companion files to set up drawing exercises and projects and to see all of the book's figures. Revit 2025 Architecture includes over 50 "mini-workshops" that complete small projects from concept through actual plotting. Solving all of these workshops will help to master Revit Architecture from beginning to end, without overlooking any of the basic commands and functions. Companion files available for downloading with projects from the book. FEATURES Uses both metric and imperial units to illustrate the myriad drawing and editing tools Includes over 50 "mini-workshops" and hundreds of figures that complete small projects Helps you to prepare for the Revit Architecture Certified Professional exam Exercises and projects included for use as a textbook Companion files available for downloading with projects from the book. BRIEF TABLE OF CONTENTS: 1. Introduction to Revit 2025. 2. How to Draw and Modify in Revit. 3. Project Preparation. 4. All You Need to Know about Walls. 5. Inserting Doors and Windows. 6. Creating and Controlling Curtain Walls. 7. Creating Floors. 8. Creating Roofs. 9. Components & Ceiling. 10. Creating Stairs, Ramps, and Railings. 11. Creating and Manipulating Views. 12. Annotation and Legends. 13. Visualize in Revit and Printing. 14. Creating Schedules. 15. Project Phasing, Design Options, and Path of Travel. 16. Toposurfaces in Revit. 17. Creating Rooms and Areas. 18. Tagging and Detailing. 19. Creating Groups and Revit Links. 20. Importing and Exporting Files in Revit. 21. Creating Masses in Revit. 22. Customizing Walls, Roofs, Floors, & Compound Ceilings. 23. Creating Families in Revit. 24. Customizing Doors, Windows, and Railing Families. 25. Worksets and Shared Views. Index.