When it comes to getting a job, the smallest thing can trip you up. For 30 years, Dr. Paul Powers has asked thousands of successful job hunters a few basic but important questions: What do you wish someone had told you when you started your job search? What (obvious or not-so-obvious) job-hunting mistake will you never make again? What job-hunting tip, secret, or technique would you stress to your very best friend?
If you are like 99.9% of all other professionals, you have less experience turning job interviews into job offers than you have with any other essential professional skill. Knock 'em Dead Job Interview will turn this weakness into strength, giving you a set of invaluable skills that you will still be using to sustain your professional growth and stability throughout the balance of your career. You'll learn how to prepare for job interviews and pick up tips for answering over 300 of the most frequently asked interview questions, including behavioral questions. You won't get canned answers, but rather an explanation of the thinking behind each question, and a preparation methodology that ensures you'll always know how best to answer truthfully and effectively. With answers to hundreds of questions, every page is packed with tips and tactics that will work for you at any job interview. You'll learn how to prepare psychologically for interviews, how to turn phone interviews into face-to-face interviews, and how to dress for success on the big day. You'll learn how to follow up effectively and negotiate the best possible job offers, and you'll also get 100 questions to ask that help you evaluate both the job offer and your potential new boss. With no filler and never a word wasted, Knock 'em Dead Job Interview shows you how to turn job interviews into job offers and paychecks, increasing your professional success and financial stability. This is advice that you'll value for a lifetime, could you use it?
"Jenny Rogers has made an exhaustive study of those daunting occasions called job interviews and has a wealth of thoroughly sensible advice to offer. She's far from advocating a one-size-fits-all formula and she certainly doesn't favour that pushy, Young Apprentice approach, which must surely do far more harm than good. In essence, she helps people be their individual selves; but at their best - neither quivering with nervousness nor putting on an unconvincing act." Jeremy Bullmore, Management Today One of the most important keys to achieving success in your career is the ability to impress at interview. Although it is fundamental to getting any job, the interview is still an experience most professionals dread. The fears of losing face, drying up and ultimately failing to get the job can lead to nervousness and low confidence. In this book, Jenny Rogers offers practical advice on research and preparation, giving guidance on how to behave during the whole selection process and present your skills and experience in a relevant manner. Handling the preliminaries and the actual interview - from personal presentation to asking questions - and what to do when you are offered the job are also examined. Job Interview Success: Be Your Own Coach provides you with all the information you need to get the result you want and prove you are in the business of achieving success. Read it the night before in order to refresh your skills. Better still, read it in time to do the research and preparation which will enhance your chances of succeeding and getting the job you want.
Gone are the days of polishing up your resume and sending it out at random. At every level today, you need to lose the resume in order to land the right job. In other words, you have to learn to tell a story about yourself that speaks to your competencies, purpose, passion, and values. Lose the Resume, Land the Job shares the new rules of engagement: How you must think, act, and present yourself so you can win.
Master the art of resume writing and boost your chances of getting hired With unemployment rates still running high, getting an edge up on the competition in your field—whatever it may be—can be an intimidating and exhausting undertaking. Luckily, Resumes For Dummies is here to serve as your life raft as you navigate the murky waters of a modern-day job search.
It's amazing the misinformation found in most r'sum' books! Scott Bennett has hired hundreds of people in a variety of industries, and he knows firsthand what kind of r'sum' sparks an employer's interest-and which ones fail. In The Elements of R'sum' Style, he warns against popular "tricks" that tend to backfire-and instead shows readers how to craft clear, compelling, targeted r'sum's and cover letters that actually work. In this new edition, readers see that whether it's on paper or online, the rules are the same: use clear, dynamic language-and keep it short and focused.
This fifth edition is especially useful for millennials and for baby boomers experiencing midlife career switches. The book leads readers step-by-step through the process of determining and verifying Personality Type. Then it identifies occupations that are popular with each Type, provides helpful case studies, and offers a rundown of each Type's work-related strengths and weaknesses.
Outsmart your new Android Getting a smartphone or tablet can be intimidating for anyone, but this user-friendly guide is here to help you to get the most out of all your new gadget has to offer! Whether you're upgrading from an older model or totally new to the awesome world of Androids, this book makes it easier than ever to get up and running with the latest technology. From setup and configuration to taking advantage of all those intricate bells and whistles, Android Phones & Tablets For Dummies helps you unleash everything your Android can do for you. If you're looking to use your phone or tablet for texting, emailing, accessing the Internet, or anything in between, you'll want to keep this go-to reference close by every step of the way. * Make sense of the phone features * Find your way around with navigation * Capture moments on the camera * Seamlessly sync with a PC or Mac Who needs a headache when dealing with a new device? This book makes it totally pain free!
In recent years, the number of teens with smartphones has exploded. While this greater access to mobile technology has its advantages, it also holds potential dangers. Smartphones pose a surprising number of threats to teen health and safety, including distracted driving and walking, sexting and sextortion, cyberbullying, identity theft, and broadcasting one's location to strangers. Overuse can lead to problems such as smartphone addiction and sleep deprivation, and physical ills like "BlackBerry thumb" and "text neck." Using many real-life examples, the author makes teens aware of these and other problems and gives practical guidelines for preventing them.
Get up and running on the Internet--the fast and easyway If you're an Internet newcomer and want to get up to speedwithout all the intimidating technical jargon, The Internet ForDummies has you covered. With over 5,000,000 copies sold*,The Internet For Dummies is the #1 choice for Internetnewcomers. Inside, you'll discover how to make the most of the Internet,get accustomed to popular sites, find the information and items youneed fast, and stay away from the bad stuff floating aroundonline. Catches you up on the latest online trends, from socialnetworking sites to blogs and more Includes the latest on Google Chrome, getting good searchresults, and sharing files Covers choosing and connecting to an Internet provider,establishing an e-mail account, getting on the web, and finding thesites that matter most Now in its 14th edition, The Internet ForDummies covers the latest social networking tools, browserfeatures, connection options, safety features, and so much more.Starting out with the basics, it walks you through getting online,picking an Internet provider, getting to know the different webbrowsers, dealing with e-mail and connecting with friends, findingthe hottest sites to share photos and videos--and everythingin between. *Includes all formats and all editions
Learn the basics and beyond with this visual guide to the iPad, iPad mini, and iPad Pro Teach Yourself VISUALLY iPad is a clear, concise, image-rich guide to getting the most out of your iPad, iPad mini, or iPad Pro running iOS 11. Designed to quickly get you the answers you need, it cuts to the chase by skipping the long-winded explanations and breaking each task down into bite-sized pieces. You'll find step-by-step instruction for everything from the initial setup to working with key features, plus troubleshooting advice that can help you avoid a trip to the Apple Genius Bar. Helpful sidebars highlight tips and tricks that get things done faster, and plenty of full-color screenshots help you visualize the lesson at hand. Exploring your iPad on your own is fun, but you'll miss some of the lesser-known features that help make the iPad the superior device it is. This guide provides a visual tour that helps new users will learn how to take advantage of all the iPad has to offer, and experienced users will discover techniques to streamline everyday tasks. * Customize your iPad and connect via Wi-Fi and Bluetooth * Access music, videos, games, photos, books, and apps * Set up your e-mail, browse the Web, and manage social media * Troubleshoot and fix minor issues that arise Now that you have this coveted device in your hands, you want to use every feature and maximize every capability--and Teach Yourself VISUALLY iPad helps you do just that, walking you through each step in the iPad experience.
Take your world with you--with an iPad! When you're a person who can't be chained to a desk, an iPad is your ideal tool for working or enjoying entertainment wherever you want, whenever you want. An iPad is an ideal tool for connecting to websites and networks, staying in touch with your family, keeping track of the office, or just settling in with a movie or a good book,. And to make it easier than ever, grab a copy of iPad For Dummies for simple steps on handling all your iPad's basic functions--as well as iOS 11, the latest version of the software that powers Apple's mobile gadgets. Assuming no prior experience with an Apple tablet, this hands-on guide helps users from every walk of life navigate their way around an iPad and an iOS 11. From setting up your eMailbox and using your iPad as an eReader to finding the best iPad apps and using voice commands, it covers everything you need to squeeze all the value out of your portable device. Get help with basics on running your iPad Personalize your tablet for your needs Connect to WiFi or Bluetooth devices Find easy fixes to common iPad problems iPad rookies rejoice! You'll be up and running like the pros in a flash!
The Basics of Cyber Safety: Computer and Mobile Device Safety Made Easy presents modern tactics on how to secure computer and mobile devices, including what behaviors are safe while surfing, searching, and interacting with others in the virtual world. The book's author, Professor John Sammons, who teaches information security at Marshall University, introduces readers to the basic concepts of protecting their computer, mobile devices, and data during a time that is described as the most connected in history. This timely resource provides useful information for readers who know very little about the basic principles of keeping the devices they are connected to--or themselves--secure while online. In addition, the text discusses, in a non-technical way, the cost of connectedness to your privacy, and what you can do to it, including how to avoid all kinds of viruses, malware, cybercrime, and identity theft. Final sections provide the latest information on safe computing in the workplace and at school, and give parents steps they can take to keep young kids and teens safe online. Provides the most straightforward and up-to-date guide to cyber safety for anyone who ventures online for work, school, or personal use Includes real world examples that demonstrate how cyber criminals commit their crimes, and what users can do to keep their data safe
The reproducible lessons in each of the six books in this series presents topics students are likely to encounter in everyday life. Each book contains problems that involve estimation, equations, mental math, calculators, and critical thinking. Additional concept-specific skills in each book include graphing, averages, statistics, ratios, and measurement. These 112-page reproducible books include teacher notes and tips, answer keys, reference guides, lessons, unit reviews, and more. Units include: Personal Care, Health, Getting Around, Managing Time, Community, Thinking About the Future, Thrifty Thinking, Sustaining the World.
The reproducible lessons in each of the six books in this series presents topics students are likely to encounter in everyday life. Each book contains problems that involve estimation, equations, mental math, calculators, and critical thinking. Additional concept-specific skills in each book include graphing, averages, statistics, ratios, and measurement. These 112-page reproducible books include teacher notes and tips, answer keys, reference guides, lessons, unit reviews, and more. Units include: Paying Your Way, Buying Large Items, Unplanned Expenses, Credit Card Buying, Rental Budgeting, Self-Employment, Going on a Trip, Keeping the Books.
The reproducible lessons in each of the six books in this series presents topics students are likely to encounter in everyday life. Each book contains problems that involve estimation, equations, mental math, calculators, and critical thinking. Additional concept-specific skills in each book include graphing, averages, statistics, ratios, and measurement. These 112-page reproducible books include teacher notes and tips, answer keys, reference guides, lessons, unit reviews, and more. Units include: Retail & Wholesale, Reading Ads, Rental Sales, Buying on Layaway, Getting the Best Deal, Online Shopping, Shopping for a Neighbor, Second Time Around.
The easy way to brush up on the math skills you need in real life Not everyone retains the math they learned in school. Like any skill, your ability to speak "math" can deteriorate if left unused. From adding and subtracting money in a bank account to figuring out the number of shingles to put on a roof, math in all of its forms factors into daily life. Math For Real Life For Dummies provides you with the simple formulas and theorems that you're likely to encounter in the workplace, the kitchen, and even when playing games. You can turn to Math For Real Life For Dummies to brush up on your math skills or to handle everyday encounters, like calculating restaurant tips, understanding interest rates, and figuring out percentages and odds. Packed with real-world examples that make sense, Math For Real Life For Dummies takes the stress out of your daily calculation encounters. Provides tips for understanding and using basic mathematical concepts Shows you how math helps the mind to reason and organize complicated situations or problems into clear, simple, and logical steps Covers all of the math skills you're likely to need in everyday situations If you're looking for a practical, plain-English guide to mastering everyday math skills, Math For Real Life For Dummies has you covered.