This book offers a clearly written and engaging introduction to the basics of interactive digital media. As our reliance on and daily usage of websites, mobile apps, kiosks, games, VR/AR and devices that respond to our commands has increased, the need for practitioners who understand these technologies is growing. Author Julia Griffey provides a valuable guide to the fundamentals of this field, offering best practices and common pitfalls throughout. The book also notes opportunities within the field of interactive digital media for professionals with different types of skills, and interviews with experienced practitioners offer practical wisdom for readers. Additional features of this book include: An overview of the history, evolution and impact of interactive media.
Over thirty years have passed since Bill Henson made his iconic Untitled 1985/86 series. These mesmerizing photographs cast a hazy procession of people and places in suburbia, interspersed with dreamlike vignettes of Egyptian structures. Now, Henson revisits his home suburb to create new work. While these photographs return to the same cul-de-sacs as the Untitled series, they show an environment that appears to have slipped out of linear time. Henson's new images are sumptuous and resplendent in their grandeur, offering a view of what is just down the street, but seems to come from another age. Together, the two series provide a glimpse into Henson's brilliant mind as he ponders the passing of time.
"The Photo Student Handbook is a collection of short, easy to read chapters filled with expert advice on enhancing image-making skills and launching a career as a professional photographer. Designed to help students grow beyond the technical aspects of photography, this book presents a variety of methods and strategies proven to strengthen visual awareness, engage creative thinking, and deepen the conceptual aspects of image-making. Topics include how to: - improve the ability to actively see; - understand light as a main character; - cultivate a creative mind; - make a standout portfolio; - unpack critical theory; - and find and develop a creative voice. Packed with valuable tips, insights, and advice from over a hundred instructors, professionals, senior students, and experts, this book is engineered to help instructors guide students step-by-step through the methods and strategies needed to achieve creative success both in the classroom and the real world. This book is ideal for intermediate and advanced level photography students and instructors alike"--
Social Media for Strategic Communication: Creative Strategies and Research-Based Applications Second Edition teaches students the skills and principles needed to use social media in persuasive communication campaigns. Author Karen Freberg combines cutting edge research with practical, on-the-ground instruction to prepare students for the real-world challenges they'll face in the workplace. By focusing on strategic thinking and awareness, this book gives students the tools they need to adapt what they learn to new platforms and technologies that may emerge in the future. A broad focus on strategic communication - from PR, advertising, and marketing, to non-profit advocacy--gives students a broad base of knowledge that will serve them wherever their careers may lead. The Second Edition features new case studies and exercises, and increased coverage of diversity and inclusion issues and influencer marketing trends.
: Now in its sixth edition, this seminal textbook examines key debates in photographic theory and places them in their social and political contexts. Written especially for students in further and higher education and for introductory college courses, it provides a coherent introduction to the nature of photographic seeing.
The definitive guide to photo editing using Photoshop and Affinity Post-production can make the difference between a good image and a great image, not to mention it's an essential process if you shoot in RAW to enjoy the most flexibility and control possible. This book will outline everything you need to know to gain a better understanding of how to apply darkroom style effects to your images using Adobe Photoshop and Affinity Photo. Through detailed background knowledge designed to make you familiar with the software and to build your confidence, you'll learn a wide range of skills and techniques through step-by-step case studies that will make learning an active experience. Not only will this be a valuable reference resource, it will also be your very own personal tutor giving you everything you need to edit your images like a pro. - Learn the essentials with a complete guide to every tool, filter and effect for both Adobe Photoshop and Affinity Photo - Get the most out of your RAW files with detailed instructions on processing your digital image - Master basic, intermediate, and advanced editing techniques with easy to follow step-bystep tutorials - Get the best quality images for display with a complete guide to home printing
Living in a digital world, we are getting used to everything becoming digital. The ways of life have changed along with the growth of technology. Now we communicate, shop, and even work digitally. In this area, photography is one of the things that has changed as well. Before the days of social media and internet life, photography already went digital.
Need to know which digital camera to buy? Want to take better photographs and retouch images? Ready to achieve professional results? This updated edition of The Digital Photography Handbook will allow you to make the most of all the advantages your camera has to offer - as well as guiding you through the latest software to enhance your images, and get professional results with every shot. This book includes expert advice on the art of photography (composition, depth of field and how to photograph a variety of subjects), editing and image manipulation software, how to print your images for the best results, developing a portfolio and mastering the rules of copyright. Doug Harman includes the very latest developments in digital technology, equipping you with everything you need to become a photographer. Contents include: Types of camera, Computers and software, Memory, Pixels and magnification, Saving images, Exposure, Composition, Light, Camera modes, Special effects, Manipulating images, Photo apps, Retouching old photos, Printing digital images, Selecting printers and paper, Archiving and the cloud, Making money from your images, Copyright rules and more.