This textbook comprehensively presents different types of analog function circuits and outlines the function circuit types implemented with lowpass filters, peak detectors, and sample and hold circuits. The text analyzes the complete architecture of a function circuit, identifies the applications of op-amps for performing a function circuit, and explores new ways of deriving function circuits using a sawtooth wave generator and a triangular wave generator. It covers important topics including waveform generators, analog dividers, time division multipliers-cum-dividers (MCDs), peak responding MCDs, vector magnitude circuits, multifunction converters, and phase sensitive detector circuits.
Now in its seventh edition, Bird's Electrical Circuit Theory and Technology explains electrical circuit theory and associated technology topics in a straightforward manner, supported by practical engineering examples and applications to ensure that readers can relate theory to practice. The extensive and thorough coverage, containing over 800 worked examples, makes this an excellent text for a range of courses, in particular for Degree and Foundation Degree in electrical principles, circuit theory, telecommunications, and electrical technology.
Electrical Principles uses a student-friendly writing style, a range of fully worked examples and full-colour illustrations to make the basic principles easier to understand. Covering the core knowledge components of the current UEE11 Electrotechnology Training Package and referencing the new AS/NZS 3000:2018 Wiring Rules, this textbook is structured, written and illustrated to present the information in a way that is accessible to students.With a new focus on sustainable energy, brushless DC motors and the inclusion of student ancillaries, as well as structuring more closely to the knowledge and skills requirements for each competency unit covered
Chapter 1 Solve problems in d.c. circuits -- Chapter 2 Solve problems in electromagnetic circuits -- Chapter 3 Apply environmentally and sustainable procedures in the energy sector -- Chapter 4 Solve problems in a.c. circuits -- Chapter 5 Solve problems in single- and three-phase low-voltage machines: Part 1 Single- and three-phase transformers -- Chapter 6 Solve problems in single- and three-phase low-voltage machines: Part 2 Alternating current rotating machines -- Chapter 7 Develop and connect electrical control circuits -- Chapter 8 Reference section -- Index.
Written to the core practical units of competency from the UEE11 Electrotechnology Training Package, Electrical Trade Practices 1e by Berry/Chadwick provides a practical yet comprehensive companion text, covering the practical units within the UEE30811 Certificate III in Electrotechnology Electrician qualification
Electrical Trade Principles is a theoretical text that addresses two key qualifications in the UE11 Electrotechnology Training Package: Certificate II in Electrotechnology (Career Start) and Certificate III in Electrotechnology Electrician. The text helps students to progress through the course and satisfactorily complete the Capstone Assessment, making them eligible to apply for an electrician’s licence
Chapter 1 Electrical energy -- Chapter 2 Work and electrical safety -- Chapter 3 Regulations and standards -- Chapter 4 Cables, connections and terminations -- Chapter 5 Fixing methods and accessories for electrical and data/communications installations -- Chapter 6 Drawings, diagrams, schedules and documents used in electrical work -- Chapter 7 Wiring and cabling systems -- Chapter 8 Protection-earthing and protective methods -- Chapter 9 Testing techniques and compliance verification -- Chapter 10 Electrical protection and protective devices -- Chapter 11 Electrical installations for safety services-fire protection and evacuation equipment -- Chapter 12 Renewable energy and other alternative supply installations -- Chapter 13 Switchboards, control panels and metering -- Chapter 14 Installation planning and design-selecting cables and protective devices -- Chapter 15 Appliances-electric heating and motors -- Chapter 16 Lighting applications -- Chapter 17 Damp situations and other specific electrical installations -- Chapter 18 Workshop fabrication -- Acronyms -- Index.
All of the most important types of motor and drive are covered, including d.c., induction, synchronous (including synchronous reluctance and salient Permanent Magnet), switched reluctance, and stepping. There has been significant innovation in this area since the fourth edition, particularly in the automotive, aircraft and industrial sectors, with novel motor topologies emerging, including hybrid designs that combine permanent magnet and reluctance effects. We now include a physical basis for understanding and quantifying torque production in these machines, and this leads to simple pictures that illuminate the control conditions required to optimise torque. The key converter topologies have been brought together, and the treatment of inverter switching strategies expanded. A new chapter is devoted to the treatment of Field Oriented control, reflecting its increasing importance for all a.c. motor drives. A unique physically-based approach is adopted which builds naturally on the understanding of motor behaviour developed earlier in the book: the largely non-mathematical treatment dispels much of the mystique surrounding what is often regarded as a difficult topic. Helps users acquire knowledge and understanding of the capabilities and limitations of motors and drives without struggling through unnecessary math and theory Presents updated material on the latest and most widely-used motors and drives, including brushless servo motors Includes additional diagrams and worked examples throughout this updated edition Includes a physical basis for the understanding and quantifying torque production
Electronics for Beginners walks the fine line of focusing on projects-based learning, while still keeping electronics front and center. You'll learn the mathematics of circuits in an uncomplicated fashion and see how schematics map on to actual breadboards
Electrotechnology Practice includes more than 1000 illustrations to help you learn various concepts and the real-world aspects of electrical practices. The text has a range of examples and review questions to support your understanding.
It covers the two key qualifications in the UEE Electrotechnology Training Package:
- Certificate II in Electrotechnology (Career Start)
- Certificate III in Electrotechnology Electrician
Electrotechnology Practice prepares you to sit for the Capstone Assessment or the Licenced Electrician’s Assessment (LEA), which is a requirement for an Electrician’s Licence.
Solar electricity or photovoltaics (PV) is the world's fastest growing energy technology. It can be used on a wide variety of scales, from single dwellings to utility-scale solar farms providing power for whole communities. It can be integrated into existing electricity grids with relative simplicity, meaning that in times of low solar energy users can continue to draw power from the grid, while power can be fed or sold back into the grid at a profit when their electricity generation exceeds the amount they are using. The falling price of the equipment combined with various incentive schemes around the world have made PV into a lucrative low carbon investment, and as such demand has never been higher for the technology, and for people with the expertise to design and install systems. This Expert handbook provides a clear introduction to solar radiation, before proceeding to cover: electrical basics and PV cells and modules inverters design of grid-connected PV systems system installation and commissioning maintenance and trouble shooting health and safety economics and marketing.
The sixth edition of Programmable Logic Controllers provides an up-to-date introduction to all aspects of PLC programming, installation, and maintaining procedures. The text is written in an easy-to-read style designed for students with no prior PLC experience. This edition is available in Connect with SmartBook 2.0. Instructor resources for this title include: Lecture PowerPoints, an Image Library, Instructor Solutions Manual, LogixPro Lab Manual Answer Key, and the RSLogix 5000 Lab Manual Answer Key.
Practical Electronic Design for Experimenters gives you the knowledge necessary to develop and construct your own functioning gadgets. The book stresses that the real-world applications of electronics design--from autonomous robots to solar-powered devices--can be fun and far-reaching.
Principles of Electronic Communication Systems provides the most up-to-date survey available for students taking a first course in electronic communications. Requiring only basic algebra and trigonometry, this new edition is notable for its readability, learning features and numerous full-color photos and illustrations. A systems approach is used to cover state-of-the-art communications technologies, to best reflect current industry practice
This captivating book teaches readers that renewable energy is energy captured from the sun, wind, water, Earth's own heat, and biomass. Further though, it examines the issues related to consumption in general and steers readers, in a practical way, toward being more conservation-minded. Readers learn how to eco-energize at school and make green choices at home.
This book looks at the evolution in construction types of residual current devices and discusses the types and functional properties of contemporary systems. The principle of operation of elements is explained, along with the primary parameters of the devices and their selection and application, as well as the rules of backup protection of residual current devices. The requirements of the standards concerning the importance of obligatory use of devices are included, along with explanation of the needed protection in case of fault, additional protection, and protection against fire. The issue of residual current device operation in circuits with nonsinusoidal currents is detailed, giving special attention to the unique results of residual current device testing and tripping under distorted earth fault currents. In modern electrical and electronic installations, new complex challenges arise for designers and maintenance staff.
Renewable energy is important as a substitute for finite fossil fuels and inflexible nuclear power and could conceivably power the world. However, this is challenging as the world is currently 80% dependent on fossil fuels, and renewable sources produce only about 15% of total energy. Conversion technologies for use with many of the eight different primary sources of renewable energy are only just emerging as viable technologies. While renewable energy sources will not run out, and their use involves little or no release of carbon dioxide or ionising wastes, they do have local environmental impacts of their own. This book analyses the nature of environmental impacts from renewable sources. A novel method of assessing impacts is explored based on a set of parameters centred on how diffuse or concentrated the energy flow is.
Welcome to the skilled trade field! If you’re interested in a career in trade, you’ve come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. This book, which includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers five main areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. Electrician HVAC Technician Plumber Construction Laborer, Craftsperson, and Manager Automotive Service Technician/Mechanic
Telecommunications provides comprehensive coverage of the UEENEEF102A unit on installing and maintaining cabling to telecommunication services. This text represents an important component in national training packages for an electrical trade qualification and advanced trade competencies. Written in clear and direct language for AQF Level 2, it supports student learning through numerous examples and diagrams.