Automotive - Light

• Automotive Chassis Engineering by David Charles Barton; John D. Fieldhouse

  ISBN: 9783031575259

  Publication Date: 2024-06-06

  Written for students and practising engineers working in automotive engineering, this book provides a fundamental yet comprehensive understanding of chassis systems and requires little prior knowledge on the part of the reader. It presents the material in a practical and realistic manner, using reverse engineering as a basis for examples to reinforce understanding of the topics. The specifications and characteristics of vehicles currently on the market are used to exemplify the theory's application, and care is taken to connect the various topics covered, so as to clearly demonstrate their interrelationships. This second edition is fully updated and revised throughout and includes a new chapter on vehicle deceleration behaviour.   The book opens with a chapter on basic vehicle mechanics, which includes the forces acting on a vehicle in motion, assuming a rigid body. The new chapter on vehicle deceleration behaviour introduces the basic concepts of a conventional foundation braking system before considering means of optimising the deceleration performance of any wheel-braked vehicle based on the tyre-road adhesion characteristics. The next chapter focuses on vehicle dynamics by considering suspension systems and how the important components of the system, the tyres, linkages, springs, dampers, etc., interact to give the required peformance characteristics for the vehicle. The book then proceeds to a chapter on steering systems, which provides readers with a firm understanding of the principles and forces involved under static and dynamic loading. The chapter on chassis structures and materials outlines analysis tools (typically, finite element analysis) and design features that are used to reduce mass and increase occupant safety in modern vehicles. The final chapter on noise, vibration and harshness (NVH) includes a basic overview of acoustic and vibration theory and makes use of extensive research investigations and practical experience asa means of addressing NVH issues. In all subject areas, the authors take into account the latest trends, anticipating the move towards electric vehicles, on-board diagnostic monitoring, active systems and performance optimisation. The book features a number of worked examples and case studies based on recent research projects. All students, including those on Master level degree courses in automotive engineering, and professionals in industry who want to gain a better understanding of vehicle chassis engineering, will benefit from this book.
• Smart Electric and Hybrid Vehicles by Ajay Kumar (Editor-In-Chief); Parveen Kumar (Editor-In-Chief); Shimi Sudha Letha (Editor-In-Chief); Mohd Tariq (Editor); Arif I. Sarwat (Editor)

  ISBN: 9781394225019

  Publication Date: 2024-12-05

  Thorough reference on technologies, designs, and strategies for electric and hybrid electric vehicles, featuring contributions from international experts Designed for readers who need to review different types of electric and hybrid vehicle designs and strategies in a single book, Smart Electric and Hybrid Vehicles: Advancements in Materials, Design, Technologies, and Modeling provides a broad overview of the field with additional resources to explore individual topics in greater depth. Abstracts, case studies, references to key data, and relevant numerical simulations are included throughout the text to aid in reader comprehension. This book introduces the global landscape of hybrid and electric vehicles, covering the available technologies from both a mechanical and electrical engineering perspective, presenting mathematical aspects of modeling and analysis, and surveying emerging trends and economic impacts. It also explains all fundamentals, regulations, policies, perceptions, and market competition aspects of intelligent electric vehicles, as well as how smart electric and hybrid vehicles can be utilized to reduce harmful emissions and reliance on fossil fuels over the lifecycle of a vehicle. Edited by a team of highly qualified academics, with contributions by an array of international experts, Smart Electric and Hybrid Vehicles: Advancements in Materials, Design, Technologies, and Modeling includes information on: Electric machine and inverter designs, maximum speed considerations, component cooling, power density, and material performance Battery systems, fuel cells, plug-in vehicles, mechanical drives and storage systems, and the role of power electronics tools The impact of trends and technologies like AI, machine vision, and digital twins, as well as related cyber security considerations Optimization of manufacturing waste, charging stations, sensing control, road trajectory prediction, and navigation systems Electrical interfaces to protect against electric shock and cost effectiveness compared to gasoline-powered vehicles Smart Electric and Hybrid Vehicles: Advancements in Materials, Design, Technologies, and Modeling is an essential reference on the subject for mechanical engineers, industrial engineers, and academic researchers working in the automotive sector. It is also an ideal learning resource for post-graduate students in the automotive field.
• SAE International's Dictionary of Vehicle Accident Reconstruction and Automotive Safety by R. Matthew Brach

  ISBN: 9781468605938

  Publication Date: 2023-10-25

  This invaluable dictionary springs from the foundation laid by the glossary in Vehicle Accident Analysis and Reconstruction Methods, Third Edition created by the disbanded SAE Accident Investigation and Reconstruction Practices Committee (AIRP). Building on this content, this book encompasses a wide array of terms derived from both accident reconstruction and automotive safety. While biomechanics contributes numerous terms related to automotive safety concerning occupants, accident reconstruction primarily caters to vehicular elements. Unlike typical glossaries, this compendium doesn't just define; it references the sources related to the concept. Diving into SAE standards, recommended practices, and other renowned texts, this dictionary paints a complete picture. Even as the automotive landscape evolves, this work stands as an extensive reference for students and professionals alike.
• Active and Semi-Active Suspension Systems by Yukun Lu; Chen Sun; Amir Khajepour

  ISBN: 9783031739231

  Publication Date: 2024-12-04

  This book comprehensively explores fundamental aspects of adaptive vehicle suspension systems, offering numerous examples for suspension modeling, control, estimation, and fault diagnosis and prognosis methodologies. It is intended for senior undergraduate and graduate students, vehicle R&D departments, and anyone with an interest in the design and control of adaptive or active suspension systems. In order to simplify the understanding of more difficult concepts, the book uses a step-by-step approach along with pictures, graphs, and practical examples. The book begins with an introduction of vehicle adaptive suspensions, highlighting some common mass-produced products in recent decades. Furthermore, three widely-used mathematical models of adaptive suspension systems are derived. Subsequently, four suspension control algorithms and gain-adaptive approaches are introduced, accompanied by MATLAB/Simulink programming examples for enhanced understanding and practical implementation. Lastly, the fault diagnosis and prognosis of adaptive suspension systems are introduced.