LibGuides: Animal Studies: Domestic Animals

Domestic animals

Farm animal medicine and surgery : for small animal veterinarians
This is a quick reference guide to meet the increasing demand from small animal veterinarians to treat the farm animals of local hobby farmers, small holders and people with novelty pets. The coverage includes popular animals such as cattle, sheep, goats, South American Camelids and backyard poultry. It includes practical methods and covers techniques of anaesthesia, clinical examination, breeding and reproduction surgery and euthanasia. It is suitable for practising small animal veterinarians and veterinary and animal management higher level students.
Anatomy and physiology of farm animals
Physiology of domestic animals
Ch. 1. Nervous System -- Ch. 2. The Sensory Organs -- Ch. 3. Muscle -- Ch. 4. Bones, Joints, and Synovial Fluid -- Ch. 5. Body Water -- Ch. 6. Blood and Its Functions -- Ch. 7. The Cardiovascular System -- Ch. 8. Respiration -- Ch. 9. The Kidneys -- Ch. 10. Digestion and Absorption -- Ch. 11. Body Heat and Temperature Regulation -- Ch. 12. Male Reproduction -- Ch. 13. Female Reproduction -- Ch. 14. Lactation -- Ch. 15. Endocrinology.
Principles and applications of domestic animal behavior : an introductory text
Introduction -- Interaction of heredity and environment -- Behavior genetics -- Early experience and behavioral development -- Learning -- Biological rhythms -- Mating systems and reproduction -- Male sexual behavior -- Female sexual behavior -- Maternal behavior -- Communication -- Agonistic behavior -- Social organization -- Personal space and social dynamics -- Human-animal interactions -- Animal handling and movement -- Atypical behavior and behavioral therapy.

Functional Anatomy and Physiology of Domestic Animals.
Functional Anatomy and Physiology of Domestic Animals, Fourth Edition provides a thorough grounding in the structure and function of animal body systems. Taking an integrated approach to the basics of anatomy and physiology, the book helps readers understand their interconnection in common domestic species. With chapters logically arranged by system, Functional Anatomy and Physiology of Domestic Animals offers students in pre-veterinary or veterinary technology programs an excellent introduction to body systems and acts as a quick review of the basics for more advanced courses or in the clinical setting.
Anatomy and Physiology of Domestic Animals.
Anatomy and Physiology of Domestic Animals, Second Edition offers a detailed introduction to the foundations of anatomy and physiology in a wide range of domestic species. Well illustrated throughout, the book provides in-depth information on the guiding principles of this key area of study for animal science students, fostering a thorough understanding of the complex make-up of domestic animals.
Color Atlas of Farm Animal Dermatology
A practical full-color reference on the recognition and diagnosis of dermatological disease in farm animals Color Atlas of Farm Animal Dermatology, Second Edition is an essential reference for veterinary dermatologists, practitioners, and students alike. Emphasizing recognition and diagnosis, the book combines hundreds of color photographs with clear and concise text highlighting clinical features, differentials, and diagnostic information for each disease. Coverage includes both common and uncommon diseases of cattle, goats, sheep, llamas and alpacas, and pigs. This new edition has been fully updated throughout, and now includes information on llamas and alpacas. Diseases covered include bacterial, fungal, parasitic, viral and protozoal, immunological, congenital and hereditary, environmental, nutritional and miscellaneous diseases, as well as neoplastic and non-neoplastic growths.
Common diseases of companion animals
Solidify your understanding of the most common diseases you’ll encounter as a veterinary technician! Common Diseases of Companion Animals, 4th Edition is an easy-to-use reference that’s divided into sections by species, with chapters in each section organized by body system. Each disease is presented in monograph form, with clinical signs, diagnostic laboratory work-up, treatment options, and client information to ensure the information you need is always available.