The Road to Hospitality: Skills for the New Professional, 4e has been repositioned to cover core and elective units of competency at both Certificate II and III levels. Covering best practices, new techniques and legislations, this new edition uses real world industry examples and follows a clear and logical structure, which builds and strengthens the knowledge and skills of each student. Employability skills are emphasised holistically throughout the full-colour text.
A guide to experience marketing within the Tourism, Hospitality, Events and Food (THEF) industries. Looks at the specific nature of marketing within these industries using international examples and theories to evaluate the ways in which experiences. Fully supported with a route map to guide the reader through the book.
Learn how to implement an eight-step planning cycle that is guaranteed to ensure the success of your winning Social Media Marketing plan. Learn what is required to develop your own personal brand, including the vital foundation and practical techniques.
For courses in Hospitality Marketing, Tourism Marketing, Restaurant Marketing, or Hotel Marketing. Marketing for Hospitality and Tourism, 7/e is the definitive source for hospitality marketing.Taking an integrative approach, this highly visual, four-color book discusses hospitality marketing from a team perspective, examining each hospitality department and its role in the marketing mechanism. These best-selling authors are known as leading marketing educators and their book, a global phenomenon, is the leading resource on hospitality and tourism marketing.
Hospitality is a huge umbrella industry encompassing a wide variety of careers in guest lodging, event planning, and transportation. This volume explores the intersection between technology and hospitality, revealing the ways in which computers and coding drive and expand the field of guest services.
Valuable global viewpoints on embedding sustainability into all aspects of the hospitality industry, and the impact this could have on transforming the sector into an advocate for more sustainable, eco-conscious tourism. Includes information on supply chain management, innovative sustainability initiatives, CSR programmes, biologically-respectful tourism, and Value Creation.
As business becomes more environmentally conscious, new practices are emerging that This book, the first of its kind, is a practical and affordable guide for restaurants, hotels, resorts, clubhouses, bed and breakfasts, tour operators, and food services on how to deliver a more environmentally friendly service.The hospitality sector is poised to be a change-maker within the realm of commerce and sustainability.
Disasters experienced by the hospitality industry have steadily increased over the past few decades, and the industry has emerged as one of the most vulnerable businesses to disasters and emergencies, with a wave of catastrophic events striking it in recent years. Disaster management has become a vital tool as key industry players seek ways to cope with these unexpected events. Disaster Planning and Preparedness in the Hotel Industry reveals that a majority of hotels are not financially capable to prepare and train personnel, and unable to afford financing activities or disaster and emergency preparedness plans and programs.
A fully revised and updated new edition of this bestselling and a unique text that explains not only the theory behind the importance of customer service but also acts as a guidebook for those wishing to put this theory into practice. In essence it is the ‘whys'and ‘hows'of customer service.
Create those magic moments that will get you noticed, remembered, referred and reviewed. Nail the competitive edge that will knock out your customers and make your business stand out from the crowd. High impact and low investment tip and tricks to get your customers raving about your service and coming back for more.
In this new edition of the management classic, the authors explore in-depth the core values of the culture that have made Nordstrom synonymous with legendary customer service. These essential values have enabled Nordstrom to survive and adapt to dramatic market shifts regularly since 1901, and the new edition explains how the Nordstrom approach can be emulated by any organization in any industry in every corner of the world.
Win the Customer cuts right to the chase, giving readers practical, powerful techniques for energizing the way they interact with the people who drive their business. Filled with examples and inspiration, the book shows readers how to: Align the business around a customer service mission.
If you're looking to transform the customer service culture in your organisation, to decrease complaints and increase compliments, Jaquie Scammell's approach is simple and more human than simply introducing better processes and procedures - and her approach works. Jaquie has studied Australian organisations that provide the best customer service, and from this research she has created a system which, if followed, will increase loyalty to your business
The Essential Bar Book is full of indispensable information about everything boozy that's good to drink. This easy-to-navigate A-to-Z guide covers it all, from the tools of the trade to the history and mythology behind classic and modern drinks, and features 115 recipes for the world's most important cocktails.
You'll learn how to Equip and stock a home bar Make a flawless martini Order wine without dying a little inside Choose a delicious sparkling wine instead of springing for Champagne Buy Scotch for the boss, and for yourself Whether you're hosting a cocktail party, attending a business lunch, or relaxing with friends at the local brewery pub, you'll gain the confidence to know exactly what you love to drink and serve.
Learn the secrets of food and wine pairing based on your individual tastes. We all taste, but what are we tasting? Knowing what actually goes into How we as individuals taste assists the reader in developing his or her own individual palette. Different than reading reviews for food and wine pairing, the book shows the secrets of individual wines and how they relate to the foods we eat.
Drinks with All the Tastiness of a Well Formed Craft Cocktail, but Without the Alcohol! Choosing to be alcohol free is becoming more and more popular, and the range of non alcoholic drink options is growing steadily in the stores.
The safe service of alcohol is of vital importance to those in the food and beverage industry failure to act responsibly can result in fines, loss of license and the potential closure of the business. Responsible sale and service of alcohol (RSA) is important for all levels of the hospitality, tourism and retail service industries to minimise the risk of alcohol-related problems associated with the use and abuse of alcohol by any person.
An increasing number of people have food allergies or require special diets, and they are dining out more often. As a food service professional, how do you accommodate the needs of these customers? This handy reference contains tools for cooks, managers, and chefs to help them create and modify recipes that meet the needs of people afflicted with multiple food allergies.
Essential Microbiology and Hygiene for Food Professionals is an accessible and practical introduction, providing the basic science relating to microorganisms in food. Written in a user-friendly style, this book is an invaluable text for all those studying microbiology and hygiene on courses in the food professions, including food science, food technology, culinary arts, catering and hospitality, nutrition, dietetics, environmental health, and public health.
Food Hygiene and Toxicology in Ready-to-Eat Foods is a solid reference for anyone in the food industry needing to understand the complex issues and mechanisms of biological control and chemical hazards to ensure food safety. infectious and non infectious contaminants in raw, minimally processed, and prepared foods are covered in detail, as well as effective measures to avoid food borne infections and intoxication.
In Can I Have your Attention?, Curt Steinhorst shows business leaders how to cut through the noise and get their employees back to work. Helping companies overcome distraction and achieve focus. You'll learn how to: Implement a comprehensive organizational strategy to increase focus and overcome digital distraction.
When companies focus on culture, the positive effects ripple outward, benefiting not just employees but customers and profits. Read this smart, engaging book if you want a practical guide to getting those results for your organization.
Packed with case studies, it's a challenging and innovative text that investigates how the idea of luxury is changing in response to a variety factors, such as social change, technological innovation and the challenge of sustainability. An innovative text, and must have reading for all those studying in hospitality, events and tourism, as well as researchers and pracitioners wishing to keep abreast of the latest developments in this influential and growing market segment.
Respected tourism academic Sara Dolnicar examines possible reasons for the explosive success of peer to peer accommodation networks, investigates topics relating to peer-to-peer network accommodation which are less frequently discussed - such as charitable activities and social activism - and offers a future research agenda. Using first hand empirical results, this text provides much needed insight into this 'disruptive innovator' for all those studying and working within the tourism and hospitality industries.
Shifting demographics and changing lifestyles are driving the surge in food-service businesses. The staff of Entrepreneur has put together everything you need to know to start, run, and grow the successful restaurant or food service of your dreams.
This introductory textbook provides a thorough guide to the management of food and beverage outlets, from their day-to-day running through to the wider concerns of the hospitality industry. It explores the broad range of subject areas that encompass the food and beverage market and its main sectors - fast food and casual dining, hotels and quality restaurants and event, industrial and welfare catering. It also looks at some of the important trends affecting the food and beverage industry, covering consumers, the environment and ethical concerns as well as developments in technology.
This fifth edition of the best-selling textbook Food and Beverage Management for the hospitality, tourism & event industries has been updated and revised to take account of current trends within education and the hospitality, tourism and leisure industries. In particular the consideration of the foods service cycle and includes greater account being taken of the management of food service operations within a broader business framework...
This book is a comprehensive training guide and authoritative resource essential for all students, bartenders, sommeliers, mixologists, waiters and food and beverage practitioners the world over. It provides an in-depth knowledge of the products, plus the technical skills, practices and latest developments in the bar and beverage area.
Hospitality professionals will find that this eighth edition balances purchasing activities with product and information from a management perspective. Each chapter has been revised so that the most current concepts available are presented along with even more in depth coverage of hospitality purchasing. Numerous examples, questions, and exercises are included to reinforce new concepts.
This book is the first to explore on this important topic from an individual and personal perspective rather than a company perspective. It will enable future managers to understand the key principles to maintaining a happy and talented workforce, as well as understanding how to successfully manage their own career path. Talent Management in Hospitality and Tourism uses case studies from international companies such as Carnival UK, Marriott, Hilton as well as SMEs such as Chewton Glen and the Rick Stein group to illustrate successful talent management strategies and how they can be implemented.
Inspire and empower your team to collaborate across any boundary. The Revolutionary 90 Day Plan that Engages Employees, Connects Silos and Transforms Organisations weaves a fascinating and entertaining tale that reveals how a simple change in approach can free your organisation of silo-based thinking, and empower your team to act as a single unit.
Do you ever feel that you are not fully appreciated? Are you always looking for a better work environment? Do you ever wonder what could be done to make a restaurant run more smoothly and efficiently? The answers lie with the actions of individuals. Schools only focus on culinary arts and other books on the technical aspects on how to perform certain tasks.