Skip to main content
Quickfind

Information for Students

Finding what you need

Library website

The library  website allows you to search for books, ebooks, journal articles, databases and videos.

You can search both on campus and at home.

Your library account allows you to make reservations and access online resources 24/7.

Borrower ID is your student number, Password is the network password chosen by you.

Searching

Use the #quickfind search tool to search the library for books, articles, dvds and more.

Searching

For a Basic search you can enter your topic words (keywords) in the search box and hit the Search button.

  • The search results will be displayed showing brief details, including location and availability details.
  • Click on a title to display full details including location and availability details.
  • Take note of the Call Number as this is where you will find the item on the shelves.
  • Also note any Access Details to see if there are copies available for loan.
  • You will need to log in to access online resources such as databases, streamed videos and e-books (see below)

Logging in to access online resources - students

Your Borrower ID is your TAFE Queensland student number.

Your Password is your date of birth (ddmmyyyy) or the network password you have set up.

There are three ways in which you can locate items in the library:

Search the catalogue

When you have found an item, look at the record and note the following details:

  • Call number

    A code containing a combination of letters and numbers. It's used to identify an item and show its address on the library shelf. 

  • Location

    Check which campus library holds the item.

  • Collection

    The library is divided into different sections.

    • Reference: These items can only be used in the library. This collection consists of authoritative resources such as encyclopedias, handbooks, biographies, directories and dictionaries. Reference items can be identified by their R label.

    • General: Most items can be borrowed.

    • Journals: Serials, journals and magazines are the same thing. Print copies are available for borrowing from boxes on the shelves where they are stored in order of publication date. Electronic copies of serials can be accessed online or from databases. (See next TAB: Online resources)

    • Held at desk: Very special items may be kept behind the Circulation Desk. These items may have been bought for a particular class or subject and special privileges are required to borrow them.

    • 2hr Loan

      The 2hr loan collection is a separate collection of material recommended by teaching staff for items that will be in heavy demand. These items are able to be borrowed for 2 hours.

  • Status

    Is it on loan?
    Is it a new item and still being processed?
    Is it a 'Not for loan' item?
    When items are in heavy demand, they can only be used in the library, to ensure everyone has access. Once the demand ceases, the 'Not for loan' status is removed.

Browse the library shelves 

If you know where items on a subject are located you may find what you need by browsing the shelves. All items on a particular topic are grouped together so they sit beside each other on the shelves.

Ask the library staff for help Our friendly library staff are happy to help you find items in the library.

What do I do if the item isn’t on the shelf?

Double-check the catalogue to make sure you have noted the details correctly. If you still can’t find the item, ask the library staff for assistance.​​

Check Subject Guides for database, ebook and video recommendations relevant to your studies.

Databases

Go to our Databases A - Z list to find databases. 

Databases allows you to:

  • search quickly for information on a particular topic
  • find more dependable information than you would on the Internet
  • access 24 hours a day, 7 days per week.

Choosing the right database to use can save you a lot of time.

ebooks

Streaming videos

Kanopy

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service that provides students with access to more than 26,000 films each year. We highly recommend using Google Chrome to ensure the best viewing experience on Kanopy. To download Chrome visit: https://www.google.com/intl/en/chrome/

Hoonuit

Short tutorials on a range of useful subjects including PC basics, Microsoft office and study skills.

Need help? Ask a Librarian : check our FAQ or send a message. Ask us in person or over the phone at your local campus library.

Loading ...

© TAFE Queensland 2017. All rights reserved.