LibGuides: First Nations Resources: Education & Language

Education

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education by Kaye Price (Editor); Jessa Rogers (Editor)
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education addresses key issues and challenges faced by teacher education students and assists them to understand the deeper social, cultural and historical factors shaping Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education. Using the personal accounts of the authors as a starting point, the third edition features applied learning activities, critical thinking questions and real-life examples. Short-answer and review questions facilitate independent as well as group study, allowing readers to explore and reflect upon the core themes and thinking points of each chapter. All chapters have been fully revised and two new chapters, on the arts and science, broaden the coverage of this important textbook. Engagingly written by respected and experienced Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander academics and educators, this book continues to be an essential resource for students and teachers.
The Aboriginal Early Childhood Practice Guide by Jessica Staines & Red Ruby Scarlet
An early childhood education book that guides educators to embed Aboriginal perspectives into curriculum based on anti-bias approaches.
Australia's Original Languages by R. M. W. Dixon
An introduction to Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait languages that explains their distinctive features accessibly for readers who have no previous experience with learning another language, and shows how language reflects traditional culture.
Big Things Grow by Sarah Donnelley
An inspiring memoir about passion, music and community within a remote outback town, from the winner of the 2020 ARIA Award for Music Teacher of the Year.
Bina: First Nations languages, old and new by Gari Tudor-Smith, Paul Williams, Felicity Meakins
Australia's language diversity is truly breathtaking. This continent lays claim to the world's longest continuous collection of cultures, including over 440 unique languages and many more dialects. Sadly, European invasion has had severe consequences for their vitality. Amid this devastating loss, there has been resilience and resistance. New languages have been born, such as Kriol and Yumplatok, both English-based Creoles. Aboriginal English dialects are spoken widely. And recently there has been an inspiring renaissance of First Nations languages, as communities reclaim and renew them. Bina: First Nations Languages, Old and New tells this story, from the earliest exchange of words between colonists and First Nations people to today's reclamations. It is an exciting and essential introduction to a vital and dynamic world of language.
Giftedness from an Indigenous perspective by Wilma Vialle
One of the biggest challenges for the field of gifted education is to ensure that our identification procedures, programs, curriculum models, and educational practices are: supported by the best research evidence available; inclusive of all social and cultural groups; and respectful of different knowledge and belief systems.
Good Morning, Mr Sarra by Chris Sarra
The remarkable true story of one man's fight to turn the tide of low expectations, this account follows educator Chris Sarra from his humble beginnings in a large Italian-Aboriginal family to his triumphant achievements, including becoming Queensland's Australian of the Year, the subject of ABC's Australian Story, and one of the most outspoken and recognized educators in Australia. Attempting to better Indigenous education, Sarra transformed the Cherbourg State School into a national success story, but not without controversy along the way--Sarra battled the media, the education system, and a culture of complacency. This inspiring autobiography shows why Indigenous children no longer hope for a better education; they can expect it.
Indigenous education in Australia : learning and teaching for Deadly futures by Marnee Shay and Rhonda Oliver (editors)
This is an essential, practical resource for pre- and in-service educators on creating contexts for success for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students. Based on the latest research and practice, this book provides an in-depth understanding of the colonised context within which education in Australia is located, with an emphasis on effective strategies for the classroom. Throughout the text, the authors share their personal and professional experiences providing rich examples for readers to learn from. Taking a strengths-based approach, this book will support new and experienced teachers to drive positive educational outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students.
Learning and Teaching in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education by Neil Harrison, Juanita Sellwood
Learning and Teaching in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education, fourth edition, is designed to equip pre-service teachers with strategies to help improve learning outcomes of students, and demonstrates strategies on how to include Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander perspectives and voices in their teaching. The text 'keeps things local' and works closely with the local community to deliver a successful teaching and learning experience in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education. This new edition has been revised to address the increased focus on teaching reading and writing, new ways of embedding Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander knowledge in the curriculum, and how to monitor and support the emotional health and wellbeing of students. It includes case studies, examples and a range of voices and personal stories from students, pre-service teachers and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community members to convey the richness and diversity of Australian classrooms.
Dictionary of Torres Strait languages by Sydney H. Ray; edited and illustrated by Ron Edwards
The only available dictionary of Eastern and Western Island languages. Drawn from Reports of the Cambridge Anthropological Expedition to Torres Straits.
Talking Back, Talking Forward by Greg Williams (Editor)
Selected papers from the 6th International Conference on Indigenous Education: Pacific Rim Cairns Conference, Australia, 18-21 December 2010

Aboriginal Ways of Using English by Diana Eades
This new collection by Professor Diana Eades addresses the way non-traditional language Aboriginal speakers of English use and speak English. Here she draws together some of her best writing over the past thirty years. Older chapters are brought up to date with contemporary reflections, informed by her many years' experience in research and teaching as well as the practical applications of her scholarly work. The introduction includes an overview about Aboriginal ways of speaking English and the implications for both education and the law, as well as discussing the use of the term 'Aboriginal English'. To understand Aboriginal ways of speaking English leads to be better understanding Aboriginal identity, a better engagement in intercultural communication, and learning about the complexities of how English is used by and with Aboriginal people in the legal process.
Bina: First Nations Languages, Old and New by Gari Tudor-Smith, Paul Williams, and Felicity Meakins
The incredible story of the resilience and recovery of Australia's First Nations languages Australia's language diversity is truly breathtaking. This continent lays claim to the world's longest continuous collection of cultures, including over 440 unique languages and many more dialects. Sadly, European invasion has had severe consequences for the vitality of these languages. Amid devastating loss, there has also been the birth of new languages such as Kriol and Yumplatok, both English-based Creoles. Aboriginal English dialects are spoken widely, and recently there has been an inspiring renaissance of First Nations languages, as communities reclaim and renew them. Bina: First Nations Languages Old and New tells this story, from the earliest exchange of words between colonists and First Nations people to today's reclamations. It is a creative and exciting introduction to a vital and dynamic world of language.
Indigenous Education by Nina Burridge (Volume Editor); Frances Whalan (Volume Editor); Karen Vaughan (Volume Editor)
Education is an essential pathway to bridging the divide in educational attainment between Indigenous and non- Indigenous students. In the Australian policy contexts, Indigenous Education has been informed by a large number of reviews, reports and an extensive list of projects aimed at improving educational outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children. Central to each has been the investigation of the inequity of access to educational resources, the legacy of historical policies of exclusion and the lack of culturally responsive pedagogical practices that impact on Indigenous student achievement at school.
Pedagogies to Enhance Learning for Indigenous Students by Robyn Jorgensen (Editor); Peter Sullivan (Editor); Peter Grootenboer (Editor)
This book describes research undertaken by leading Australian researcher in Indigenous communities. While the chapters are Australian in their focus, the issues that are discussed are similar to those in other countries where there are indigenous people. In most cases, in Australia and internationally, Indigenous learners are not succeeding in school, thus making the transition into work and adulthood quite tenuous in terms of mainstream measures. The importance of being literate and numerate are critical in success in school and life in general, thus making this collection an important contribution to the international literature. The collection of works describes a wide range of projects where the focus has been on improving the literacy and numeracy outcomes for Indigenous students.
Seeding Success in Indigenous Australian Higher Education by Rhonda Craven (Editor); Janet Mooney (Editor)
ISBN: 9781781906866

The comprehensive, phased approach presents four sets of considerations in course redevelopment: design, interaction, media, and evaluation. Each consideration is presented in a separate chapter, which explores the extant literature and applies the latest research and understandings to design decisions. The power of this approach comes from a thorough examination of each consideration coupled with a method by which to apply it. Decisions are structured and layered, each phase informing the next. This volume will be of interest to educators, students, academics and anyone with an interest in diversity and Higher Education.
Strong and Smart - Towards a Pedagogy for Emancipation by Chris Sarra
Strong and Smart - Towards a Pedagogy for Emancipation tells the story of how Dr Chris Sarra overcame low expectations for his future to become an educator who has sought to change the tide of low expectations for other Indigenous students. The book draws upon Roy Bhaskar's theory of Critical Realism to demonstrate how Indigenous people have agency and can take control of their own emancipation. Sarra shows that it is important for Indigenous students to have confidence in their own strength and ability to be as "able" as any other group within society. The book also compares and contrasts White perceptions of what it is to be Indigenous and Indigenous views of what it is to be an Aboriginal Australian. The book calls for Indigenous Australians to radically transform and not simply reproduce the identity that Mainstream White Australia has sought to foster for them.
Uncommon Schools by Wade Cole
Postsecondary institutions for indigenous peoples emerged in the late 1960s, just as other special purpose colleges based on gender or race began to close. What accounts for the emergence of these distinctive institutions? Though indigenous students are among the least populous, the poorest, and the most educationally disadvantaged in the world, they differ from most other racial, ethnic, cultural, and linguistic minorities by virtue of their exceptional claims to sovereignty under international and domestic law. Uncommon Schools explores the emergence of postsecondary institutions for indigenous peoples worldwide, with a focus on developments in the United States, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages
The State Library of Queensland (SLQ) has developed a range of resource materials that can support community language revival in the classroom, including information sheets and resource guides.
First Languages Australia
First Languages Australia is the national peak body working to ensure the strength of all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages. They support a network of language centres, community programs and industry partners covering the whole of Australia.
Indigenous Language eBooks
State Library of Queensland has made some Indigenous language eBooks available here.
Little Yarns
A podcast series for preschoolers, families and many more, Little Yarns is all about the diverse languages, stories and Countries of Indigenous Australia. From the Yawuru to the Bundjalung, the clans of Zenadth Kes to the Palawa people, every mob has its own language and unique culture. Each episode will take you on a journey to a different Nation; to listen to the sounds of Country, share some language and have a little yarn.
Play School: Walking Together
Hunter, Rachael & Emma Donovan walk us through our shared histories and the role we all play in building relationships & communities that value Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples, histories, cultures and futures.
Word Up
Word Up is a program on ABC Radio National and shares the diverse languages of black Australia from Anmatyerre to Arrernte, from Bidjara to Bundjalung, from Nyungar to Ngaanyatjarra, from Yankunytjatjara to Yorta Yorta—one word at a time.