This book provides new andseasoned users with step-by-step procedures on creating and modifying 3Dmodels, working with cameras and lights, assigning materials to objects,rendering, and printing. Unlike many AutoCAD competitors, it uses both metric and imperialunits toillustrate the myriad tools for this popular application. Use the companiondisc to set up drawing exercises and projects and see all of the book's figuresin color (files are also available for downloading from the publisher bywriting to email@example.com). AutoCAD2020 3D Modeling includes 50 "mini-workshops," that complete small projectsfrom concept through actual plotting. Solving all of the workshops willsimulate the creation of full projects (architectural and mechanical) frombeginning to end, without overlooking any of the basic commands and functionsin AutoCAD 2020. Features: * Covers 3D solid modeling, 3Dsurface modeling, working with cameras/lighting, rendering and imaging,dimensioning and drafting, and model interchange * Includes 50 "mini-workshops,"that complete smallprojects from concept through actual plotting. Solving all of the workshopswill simulate the creation of full projects (architectural and mechanical) * Provides new andseasoned users with step-by-step procedures on creating and modifying 3D modelsin both metric and imperial units * Companion disc can be used to set up in-text drawing exercisesand projectsand to see the book's figures in color (files are also available for downloading from the publisher by writing to firstname.lastname@example.org) * Written by anAutoDesk®ApprovedInstructor and Certified AutoDesk AutoCAD Master.
This book is the most comprehensive book you will find on AutoCAD 2020 - 2D Drafting. Covering all of the 2D concepts, it uses both metric and imperial unitsto illustrate the myriad drawing and editing tools for this popular application. Use the companion files to set up drawing exercisesand projects and to see all of the book's figures in color (Files alsoavailable for downloading from the publisher by emailing email@example.com). AutoCAD 2020 Beginning and Intermediateincludes over 100 "mini-workshops" that complete small projects from conceptthrough actual plotting. Solving all of these workshops will simulate the creation of three projects (architectural and mechanical) from beginning to end, without overlooking any of the basic commands and functions in AutoCAD 2020. Features: - Designed for novice users ofAutoCAD 2020. Most useful for "teach yourself" or instructor-led AutoCAD training in Level 1 or 2. No previous CAD experience is required - Separate chapter on the "Drawing Compare" function - Companion files featuringdrawings, practice and finished plots, 4-color figures, etc. - Includes over 100 "mini-workshops" andhundreds of figures that complete small projects - Uses both English and metricunits in examples, exercises, projects, anddescriptions- Covers three full projects (metric and imperial) for architectural and mechanicaldesigns - Helps you to prepare for the AutoCAD Certified Professionalexam - Exercises and instructor's resources available for use as a textbook.
This book provides a foundation to understand the development of sustainability in civil engineering, and tools to address the three pillars of sustainability: economics, environment, and society. It includes case studies in the five major areas of civil engineering: environmental, structural, geotechnical, transportation, and construction management. This second edition is updated throughout and adds new chapters on construction engineering as well as an overview of the most common certification programs that revolve around environmental sustainability. Features: Updated throughout and adds two entirely new chapters Presents a review of the most common certification programs in sustainability Offers a blend of numerical and writing-based problems, as well as numerous application-based examples that utilize concepts found on the Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) exam Includes several practical case studies Offers a solution manual for instructors Fundamentals of Sustainability in Civil Engineering is intended for upper-level civil engineering sustainability courses. A unique feature is that concepts found in the Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) exam were targeted to help senior-level students refresh and prepare.
This is a revised and updated version of the highly successful first edition. It continues to provide invaluable practical guidance in carrying out engineering geological logging of soil and rock samples and exposures in the field.
Structural analysis comprises the set of physical laws and mathematics required to study and predict the behaviour of structures. This book gathers and presents current research in the field of structural analysis across a broad spectrum of topics. Discussions in this compilation include: evaluating seismic safety using non-linear structural analysis; a structural analysis of how art is made; the structure and function of vegetal ecosystems in semiarid regions of North-eastern Mexico; using a covariance structural analysis as a method for supporting efforts to improve employee motivation; and a method for solving linear algebraic equation sets in FE analysis software.
This book covers the wide spectrum of subjects relating to obtaining and using building stones, starting with their geological origin and then describing the nature of granites, volcanics, limestones, sandstones, flint, metamorphic stones, breccias and conglomerates, with emphasis being placed on how to recognise the different stones via the many illustrated examples from Great Britain and other countries. The life of a building stone is explained from its origin in the quarry, through its exposure to the elements when used for a building, to its eventual deterioration.