THE CONSTRUCTION PROJECT MANAGEMENT SUCCESS GUIDE 3RD EDITION: Everything You Need To Know About Construction Contracts, Estimating, Planning And Scheduling, Skills To Manage Trades And Home Renovations.
(Black & White on White paper) This book is directed mainly toward Construction Management, Construction Engineering and Contractors and it has three objectives, the first is to provide technical guide for students taking courses in civil or structural engineering, the second is to serve as a quick reference for professional engineers to a wide variety of construction information, the third is to present a tool to assist Contractors in selecting the optimal construction technique.
This 5th edition covers the latest practices and processes of various alternative methods for the construction of tall buildings from foundation to roof. The text progresses through the stages of site investigation, excavation and earthmoving, foundation construction, basement construction, structural systems for the superstructure, site and material handling, wall and floor construction, external wall and roof construction. The planning, safety and environmental considerations, methods, materials, equipment, and construction sequence of the various proprietary systems for each of these respectively stages are discussed.
Ch. 1. Becoming a successful owner builder -- Ch. 2. Choosing a site & designing the house -- Ch. 3. Understanding house construction -- Ch. 4. Extending a house -- Ch. 5. Planning, specifications, subcontractors & materials -- Ch. 6. Identifying improper building practice & common problems -- Ch. 7. Measuring & marking out -- Ch. 8. Fastening -- Ch. 9. Cutting, planing & jointing -- Ch. 10. Extra building know how.
What do we mean by net zero energy? Zero operating energy? Zero energy costs? Zero emissions? There is no one answer: approaches to net zero building vary widely across the globe and are influenced by different environmental and cultural contexts. Net Zero Energy Building: Predicted and Unintended Consequencespresents a comprehensive overview of variations in 'net zero' building practices. Drawing on examples from countries such as the United States, United Kingdom, Germany, Japan, Hong Kong, and China, Ming Hu examines diverse approaches to net zero and reveals their intended and unintended consequences. Existing approaches often focus on operating energy: how to make buildings more efficient by reducing the energy consumed by climate control, lighting, and appliances. Hu goes beyond this by analyzing overall energy consumption and environmental impact across the entire life cycle of a building--ranging from the manufacture of building materials to transportation, renovation, and demolition. Is net zero building still achievable once we look at these factors? With clear implications for future practice, this is key reading for professionals in building design, architecture, and construction, as well as students on sustainable and green architecture courses.
Sustainable Construction is the leading reference for the design, construction, and operation of high performance green buildings. With broad coverage including architecture, engineering, and construction, this book nevertheless delivers detailed information on all aspects of the green building process, from materials selection to building systems and more. This new fourth edition has been updated to reflect the latest codes and standards, including LEED v4, and includes new coverage of carbon accounting. The discussion has been updated to align with the current thinking on economics, climate change, net zero buildings, and more, with contributions by leaders in the field that illustrate the most recent shifts in thinking and practice. Ancillary materials including an instructor's manual and PowerPoint presentations for each chapter help bring this clear and up-to-date information into the classroom, making this book a valuable reference for working construction professionals. Also, Interactive graphics found throughout the course help activate the content and highlight key concepts for students.
The second edition of Sustainable Construction provides a masterclass on the principles and techniques involved in the design and delivery of practical, affordable, high quality sustainable buildings and places. It presents precedents, theory, concepts and principles alongside 120 wide ranging case studies that highlight current best practice and encourage implementation. Topics in the book include: * the history of ideas in sustainable construction * policy * materials * cost issues * appraisal techniques * environmental design * energy * water * construction processes * and urban ecology. The book is heavily illustrated in full colour and is an ideal, contemporary, accessible primer to courses in Architecture, Construction, Building Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Project Management, Landscape, Urbanism and Development.
Despite recent improvements in energy efficiency being made in new build, it is important that the existing commercial building sector also take action to meet emission reduction targets. The objectives and challenges of such action will reduce the risk of the sector becoming obsolete due to high energy use and poor environmental performance. This book presents a theory-based, practice-support methodology to deal with sustainable retrofitting opportunities for existing commercial buildings in warm climates using bioclimatic design as the basis. The book has four main parts, focusing on eco-design and renovation, bioclimatic retrofitting, technological and behavioural change and case studies of retrofitting exemplars.
Using a mixture of original research and analysis, best-practice design thinking and a detailed look at exemplar case studies, author Philip Oldfield takes the reader through the architectural ideas, engineering strategies and cutting-edge technologies that are available to the tall building design team. The book takes a global perspective, examining high-rise design in different climates, cultures and contexts. It considers common functions such as high-rise housing and offices, to more radical designs such as vertical farming and vertical cemeteries. Innovation is provided by examining not only the environmental performance of tall buildings but also their social sustainability, guiding the reader through strategies to create successful communities at height. The book starts by critically appraising the sustainability of tall building architecture past and present, before demonstrating innovative ways for future tall buildings to be designed. These include themes such as climatically responsive architecture, siting a tall building in the city, zero-carbon towers, skygardens and community spaces at height, sustainable structural systems and novel fa¿es. In doing so, the book provides essential reading for architects, engineers, consultants, developers, researchers and students engaged with sustainable design and high-rise architecture.
This is a guide to both the basics and the details of tall building design, delving into the rudimentary aspects of design that an architect of a tall office building must consider, as well as looking at the rationale for why and how a building must be built the way it is. Liberally illustrated with clear, simple black and white illustrations showing how the building structure and details can be built, this book greatly assists the reader in their understanding of the building process for a modern office tower. It breaks down the building into three main components: the structure, the core and the facade, writing about them and illustrating them in a simple-to-understand manner. By focusing on the nuts and bolts of real-life design and construction, it provides a practical guide and desk-reference to any architect or architecture student embarking on a tall building project.
The RICS New Rules of Measurement mean that the construction industry now has a way of allowing a more consistent approach to the measurement and estimating of buildings. Estimating and cost planning using the New Rules of Measurement offers comprehensive guidance on all the technical competencies concerned with estimating throughout the precontract stages.
Estimating for Construction explains both the traditional techniques, and best practice in early contractor involvement situations, within the framework of modern construction procurement. As well as introducing different estimating techniques.....
Surveying is an important part of all undergraduate and higher diploma courses in civil engineering and building. This textbook covers a wider range of topics than most other surveying texts, and deals not only with control surveying techniques and equipment but also with setting out practice. The methods described are geared to modern equipment and processes. However, the book emphasises the need to appreciate practical site problems as well as the implications of the latest electronic methods of field work and data handling.
Suitable for students of engineering new to surveying, this title offers an introduction to land and construction surveying. It includes the principles, methods and equipment used in surveying, as well as covering levelling, total stations, detail surveys, and electronic distance measurement.